#BEERsaturday! - Zeke's Beerierarchy

How do I classify my findings? Let me show you the ways.

zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

Recently, I realized that I constantly refer to my Top 5 as a measuring stick of the beers about which I blog. This probably leaves people thirsty as I have not explained my ranking system, or even refreshed what is currently in my top 5. Let me give a week worth of thought to the top 5 and explain to you my scale.

Here is my scale when I consider purchasing:

  1. Top 10 - Depending upon my mood, it could be a top 10. This is the list of the best readily available beers.
  2. Seasonal Gold - These are the gems not available year round but I really wish they were. They come around maybe once a year and I snap em up!
  3. One-Off/Playground Beer - I love a progressive brewery that tries something different. Some of the BEST beers are brewed only one, are hard to get, or only come in growlers from the Brewery. Such a treat.
  4. I would buy this again - These are beers that can't necessarily compete with the top 5/10. They are very valuable though as a pleasant change to that top 5/10 so that I can taste something different, good, and not get tired of my favourites.
  5. Once and Done - This is a sporting term but describes the beer I pick up because it is new, hoping it will become an I would buy this again or even a top 10! Very rare though and if I win or I learn, these beers are a learning experience I am glad I discovered but won't buy again for whatever reason.

Let me show you some examples:

text16.png

Top 5/10

If I didn't love beer so much, or I had the discipline to REALLY analyze the beers to eliminate 5 of the best beers you will ever taste, it would be Top 5. For example: I just don't have the heart to eliminate Redline Brewery Clutch APA http://www.redlinebrewhouse.com/the-beers/clutch-american-pale-ale/from any list because it is the best in certain situations and really damn good in others. Get it?

IMG_4354.JPG

Top 5 or 10, Headstock IPA from Nickelbrook Brewing is one of the longest running and possibly the king of all the beers I have had in the last 5 years. A bit of malt for body, and a serious collection of hops that make it both bitter and sweet. It is the beer I measure most IPAs against which is really unfair to try and measure up to. Mercifully, everywhere I buy my beer always stocks this and has it in stock.

<

The funniest thing is I avoided buying it at all when this was the label. I might have missed out on this book because of its shitty cover!

text16.png

Seasonal Gold

Some breweries torture us by only making limited seasonal runs of some of our favourite beers. IT is also a mercy as well because I only have to see fuckin' pumpkin stouts once a year. ;) Having been around the sun a few times as a beerologist, I get excited for any season as I know of a good beer coming down the pipes I have had to do without for 9 months or so.

IMG_4164.jpg

A perfect example of this is Karma Citra IPA from Great Lakes Brewery http://www.greatlakesbeer.com/Beer/karma-citra/. It is only brewed for a short time during the year or else it would be in my top 10. So damn good and I get reminded every time I drink it. I could think of a bunch of their beers that I would relegate back to seasonal so they could have this all year round. It is available right now but I drank my last one and the shelf is empty. Please be more!

text16.png

One-off/Playground beer

In an effort to be progressive and discover the next big thing or a tight niche, breweries often unleash their brewers to experiment and create something different. A good example of this is the Tank 10 line at Great Lakes where they use to experiment......but it got too popular and now is another main brewing line. You get the strangest, yummiest most different brews and feel like a beer hipster when you have something everyone else is not having.

IMG_7847[1].jpg

The one I got most recently was the Renegade Mango Infused IPA https://cowbellbrewing.com/beer/024-hazy-ipa from Cowbell Brewing. The renegade is a one-off beer so the smaller subset of Mango Infused was even more special and limited. These kinds of beers are great as they get put fresh into the growler, you take em home and drink em. No hundreds of miles and days on shelves. Plus the beardos are envious.

text16.png

I would buy this again

I would easily buy from exclusively from my top 10. The problems with that are that I would probably get tired of my top 10, not be very progressive or adventurous, and my weekly blog might become a little repetitive. Can't have any of that. So, I mix in the new beer I see on the shelf. When things go right, I would buy this again.

IMG_7780.jpg

A great recent example of this is Brewdog Elvis Juice Grapefruit IPA https://www.brewdog.com/usa/elvis-juice. It may end up being a one off or seasonal but I bought it because it was new and I like Brewdog. I was surprised not only by how great the balance of grapefruit was at the beginning, but how I expected a radler and kept getting a good IPA. Sometimes, the fruit makes it taste like it is a grapefruit drink that happens to be a beer. This one was great because it was a perfect beer with a little grapefruit taste. Hence, I would buy this again.

text16.png

Once and Done

The classification here is much like the I would buy this again, except I wouldn't. While I appreciate variety and strange experiments, sometimes they just end up not being good.

IMG_7671.jpg

This Bench Short Hills IPA https://benchbrewing.com/our-beer/#short-hills-ipa turned out to be just that. I pitted it up against another blind purchase in a blog a couple weeks ago and it took the fall. Nothing good about it and the combination of hops and brewing process/ingredients produced a beer that was dirty tasting to me. While I am glad I had something new, I am also glad to throw this on my Once and Done list so that I don't have to drink it again.

text16.png

There you have it! A glossary of categorization so that you can sip and read along with me on my beer adventure. Thank you, craft breweries, for turning my addiction to beer into a socially acceptable hobby!

text16.png

Want my advice as the STEEM Beerologist? Grab yourself a beer, put together a beer story, and join @detlev, myself and the folks for #beersaturday week 128 https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/beersaturday-week-128 Yes it has gone on that long and I have met so many STEEM drinkin buddies as well as accumulated plenty of BEER tokens along the way. It will be good to have a drink with you.

text16.png

text16.png

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png

innerblocks.jpg

How do you classify your beer for your beer blog?


Posted via Marlians.com
Sort:  

that's a pretty advanced rating system.

I don't generally have any fancy beers because all of the brews here other than the mass produced lagers by the big Thai companies are taxed like crazy. So you can either have a lager for $2 or $10 or more for something else.

However, when i move to Vietnam in January apparently they are a little more chill on their taxes so i will get some micro brews into my life.

I'm willing to pay a bit more for a microbrew but not 5 times.

Same here. The premium stuff can get up to double the price of the big brewery margarine. Can't say I would pay much more than that.

Vietnam huh? That will be an awesome adventure and I look forward to hearing it!

I like the term beerologist :) what degree? :) !BEER

Haha. Purely fabricated based upon my years enjoying, my brewery clients I have worked with to build and support their breweries, and my recent stardom as a beer blogger here.

PLus, I have the power to make it rain !BEER



Hey @seckorama, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

More Cowbell... !😂✌🍻 !BEER

I have a fever. And the only cure is more !BEER!



Hey @davedickeyyall, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

I was reading so analysis of google trends and beer sales figures a couple of days ago that suggested that the pumpkin beer craze is over - so you might be very happy about that.



Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!



Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

A member bonus $trendotoken tip for @zekepickleman from MAXUV!
Also consider our MAPR fund and MAPXV vote bonds too.
MAP Steem Fintech: growing your STEEM without SP.

Congratulations @maxuvv, you successfuly trended the post shared by @zekepickleman!
@zekepickleman will receive 3.40862175 TRDO & @maxuvv will get 2.27241450 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @zekepickleman, your post successfully recieved 3.40862175 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@maxuvv earned : 2.2724145 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59415.56
ETH 2593.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47