Sippin' Szechuan Saisons by the Sea Shore.

in #beersaturday7 years ago

Today is my Sunday, so I'm relaxing sipping on an Alakazam, a Szechuan Peppercorn Saison from Parallel 49 out of Vancouver BC Canada
alakabubbles.jpg

I'm quite fond of this beer. A lot of fruity esters, light, crisp, clean, with a bit of barnyard funk and some spice and heat on the finish.

alakazam.jpg

Saisons are one of my favourite styles of beer and there are many variations of this style. This one leans towards the "classic" flavours and what most would expect of a saison, but that added spice at the end really works well. I guess you could call it magical ;)

alakazamlabel.jpg

Sort:  

I'm going to have to follow you just because of this post. I just brewed a big batch of saison last week and kegged the first bit today. Like @beer47 said, I'm surprised to see you having those peppercorns on hand for the photo op. This beer is now on my list of things to try. If you are a big fan of the style, I'd recommend Saison de Liz by Perennial Brewing Co. It is ethereal and distinctive, yet in style.

Haha, Like I said, they were just regular old black peppercorns. I wish I had an extensive peppercorn collection to go with my collection of beer!
I'll give you a follow too, pretty much any craft beer fan will get a follow from me! I will look into the Saison and hopefully I can get my hands on it. Look forward to seeing what you post on the subject! I don't brew myself, but it's something I've been interested in trying for some time now.

I missed that part about the black peppercorns. :p

You happened to have some Szechuan peppercorn laying around? 😉🍻

Did any of that classic Szechuan peppercorn flavor manifest itself in the beer? Me and a few friends call it "zing" — that salivation inducing zing pepper tast.

I like the photos too, BTW. Is that from a DSLR or a iPhone 8 or a Pixel or something else?

Haha, @beer47 just plain old peppercorns. On the end there was lil' zing, making you go back for more after each sip. Photos were taken with a Canon Rebel T5. Thanks for the comments, follow me if you liked the post. There will be plenty more!

Already followed you. 😊🍻

Looks great!!

Certainly wasn't bad. Cheers!

Are you really near a sea shore?.....even if you aren't probably worth it for the title. Pepper in a Saison is interesting, Saisons are normally quite gentle so the zing would add an interesting twist.

Yes, Victoria BC Canada, across the street from the water! No lies here haha.
I enjoyed the kick, as I do with food as well.

Great pictures.
The art on the bottle is awesome as well.
I would have picked up this bottle too if I had seen it.

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada.
Check out my Latest Beer Blog!

First off, thank you! I try to make 'em look as good as I can.
I assume you're from Ontario, not sure Parallel 49 has made it that far east. They're pretty decent and their labels are as well.
I'll definitely be having a drink with Dadview each week now! And if you're interested in trades, maybe we can get an east meets west thing going on at some point. Cheers!

That would be a great twist for a post.
I will have to take a look for some BC beers.
It would be cool if we both had the 2 same beers and made it a East vs West face off. We would both score it and declare a winner.

Yes! It would be easy enough to do too. We only get beers from a couple decent breweries out there, so if we sent some exclusive stuff to one another to try and post about, it could work out well for multiple reasons!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84