Brandy Friday on Beer Saturday

in #beersaturday7 years ago (edited)

I have to explain 2 things. I have been living in the United Arab Emirates for 3 years. There is not a drinking culture here. However, I know a place, but I have to be careful what I say.

Anyway, I haven't had the chance to get beer, but I do have some brandy in the pantry. Nice.

IMG_20180216_220155.jpg

Why Friday? Because in the United Arab Emirates, Friday and Saturday are the weekend days. Friday feels like Saturday. So I'll be a day early.

Whilst I drink this brandy, I will tell the tale of 2014. After a long relationship, I was suddenly a single man. Do I bask myself in misery? No way! I had a year long party. It was fantastic.

IMG_56515623633070.jpeg

I am from England. A town called Paignton in Devon. People from England like to drink.

I'm the one in the centre of the picture. They are all good friends, but the man on the left is Andrew B Mathias. He had set up an initiative. AD/HD. It was a Facebook page where we could arrange to meet up to see local live music.

There were some amazing bands, including up and coming original bands, like Reigning Days and Moriaty.

We had a great time.

When the music was over, we drank more beer. Then it would be slippery nipples. Yes, you read that correct. It is Sambuca and Baileys.

There were not many people who could keep up with us. Some fell by the wayside. We had so much fun.

Unfortunately, the party has to end eventually. In 2015 I went to live in Dubai Now I am settled with a lovely wife and baby. I wouldn't have it any other way.

Last summer, 2017, I finally was able to go back for a few weeks. I caught up with Mr AD/HD, Andrew B Mathias.

IMG_20170721_145621.jpg

Don't ever forget to enjoy life, whatever your circumstances. Have fun with Beer Saturday.

IMG_20170722_001855.jpg

The Dubai Steemit Club

A group created by @nuridin
Click here to join the discord https://discord.gg/ZTWGYP9
flag-1208881_1920.jpg

Brits

ukbritsdiscord.png

Sort:  

Delightful times, indeed.

Yes, I've had a slippery nipple, or two.
I've also had a buttery nipple, have you?

I haven't heard of that one. I've just looked it up. I'll have to give that a try.

Congratulations @mr-neil! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

After a long relationship, I was suddenly a single man. Do I bask myself in misery? No way! I had a year long party. It was fantastic
This is awesome buddy:)

It was an awesome time. Thank you.

This post has received a 25% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

This post has received a 25% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

cool post and thanks for joining the #beersaturday challenge

next week, please add your post as a direct comment to my weekly post

thank my bot will find it automaticly.... and saves me some work to search for your post...

No worries, I will do. :-) Thank you

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

its really true, my dads friend use to say the same

Your Dad's friend is a wise man too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83