Ommegang Rosetta - #BeerSaturday, Week 32 Entry

in #beersaturday7 years ago (edited)

Glassy greetings and stout salutations! It is time to talk beer! I was down and out with a cold early last week, so I passed on entering @detlev 's #BeerSaturday contest. This week...I am back!!!

My entry comes as a Christmas gift from my girlfriend. She is pretty awesome and she likes to try to find beers for me that I have not had. I found this in my stocking...

ommegang.jpg

You can clearly see it is a cherry beer. I love, love, LOVE cherry flavored...well almost anything (except actually eating cherries, seriously). Let's take a closer look at a bottle.

close up.jpg

This beer is a "Belgian Kriek". I have been a beer fan for a very long time, but the style "kriek" was new to me. I did some very intense research (Wikipedia). I found that this beer was described as a "Kriek lambic". Ok, I have had a lambic before and I remember it being a VERY fruity beer. Wikipedia states a kriek lambic is "made by fermenting lambic with sour Morello cherries."

Source

So now I can expect it to be a sour cherry beer. I don't like sours, but I love cherry beers. This one could go either way. Let's pour!

bottle.jpg

Look at that dark color! It was on a red mat on a wood table. Let's get a view in a different light.

door.jpg

Even with the white door behind it, you can see this beer is dark. It had a great cherry aroma and the taste...it was definitely a bit sour, but not overwhelmingly sour. Overall, I enjoyed it immensely. I could see people who are not cherry fans hating this one, but I am a cherry fan. I will be seeking out more kriek beers in the future. Perhaps you'll see one of those on a future #BeerSaturday post.

Have a great night! Keep toasting to #SteemSilverGold and #TheAlliance!

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

If you read this, can you upvote my comment on this page? The more votes I get, the better my chances are of taking home a prize!

https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/whooot-5-steemians-get-paid-to-drink-beer-and-blog-about-this-isn-t-this-a-cool-challenge

I’m a big fan of cherry and beer. Sounds like the perfect pair 😀

this. looks. awesome! I must go out and find this.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Nice post, I am not a great lover of fruit flavored beers, but this dark one one could just do the trick!!

I’m not sure how I would go with this beer. I’ve never had a cherry beer before. I like subtle citrus in my beer but other fruit? Not so much. It would be worth a shot though. :)

2018_01_04_19_45_33
I am not sure if that is a beer for me. Not too big into the cherry, well except eating real cherries. a bit opposite from you.
This was my entry: https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@dadview/have-another-drink-with-dadview-absent-landlord
Glad to see I am joining some other alliance members in the beersaturday posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75