A Journey Back in Time With Columbus Amber Ale

The moment I saw the label on the bottle, my brain transported me back in time to when Christopher Columbus crossed the Atlantic Ocean. I imagined myself standing next to him on the ship's deck and discussing life topics while embarked on a voyage towards new horizons. I imagined the spinning sensation in my head - a result of the delightful ale that I was drinking, amplified by the swinging motion of the ship. ½

P1130388.jpg

"Do you need help?" a honeyed voice pulled me out of my fantasies. "I don't think so" I answered without bothering to look at where the voice came from. Instead, I checked ratebeer on my phone to discover that this brew had a rating of 86%. I grabbed a couple of bottles with trembling hands and went to the counter to pay.

P1130404.jpg

"This beer is orgANIc." the same voice that apparently belonged to a cute-looking brunette. The strong accentuation of "ANI" irritated me to the point that I decided to use my "interaction killing"-skills - "I know, I usually read the labels." My answer ended all further conversation, but I couldn't care less: all I could think about at that moment was Columbus and his endless voyages.

P1130407.jpg

Columbus Organic Amber Ale ~ Brewed by Brouwerij 'T IJ in the Netherlands ~ 330 ml ~ ~ 2.2€ ~ Alc/Vol 9%

P1130412.jpg

Color and Aroma
Columbus pours amber in color with a thick, dirty-white head. The head is relatively long-lasting and leaves a nice lacing on the glass. The aroma is quite heavy, and the first thing that comes to my mind is sourdough bread. Holy crap, that smell makes me hungry, and instead of Columbus, I started imagining slices of warm fermented bread with butter. Apart from the yeast, there are also some notes of malt, and that's pretty much all I can smell.

P1130414.jpg

Taste
The taste is another thing that catches me by surprise as it has nothing to do with sourdough bread. It starts off sweet, then gradually turns bitter, and the bitterness then fades into a spicy aftertaste, which makes for a pleasant warmth in my throat. The alcohol is well-pronounced, and the carbonation is good (medium).

P1130432.jpg

Verdict
Columbus is the first Dutch craft that I drink, and I have to tell you - it's weird but not in a bad way! It's relatively cheap, it's strong enough to make your head spin for a few minutes, and it's orgANIc. Although it's not spectacular by any means, there's nothing not to like about it. I am rating it with almost 4 out of 5 stars.

P1130419.jpg

What do you guys think about organic beers?

Cheers and have a fabulous Saturday!
Dan

Sort:  

Perhaps whilst standing on the deck with Columbus you could have a conversation with him to explain that sailing from Europe to Asia that way is not going to work, and maybe tell him where the USA is as he never actually got there.

There would of course had been beer on board, as most boats of the time carried beer rather than water as it was more sanitary.

I am laughing my ass off 😂

Great review @irreverent-dan. I'll look for the brand in Holland. By the way, what's your camera and lighting setup usually for your brew reviews?

(Oh and great review on the Yongnuo. I've had my eye on that for a while.)

Thanks a lot, Mike! The setup is Lumix G80 with Olympus 12-40mm, a tripod from Vanguard, and if there isn't good natural light, I also use Yongnuo's led wand. I am thinking of purchasing another one by the way.

Another really good review Dan!! And the photos are as well. I particularly like the double exposure with your ghost hand, or ghost beer....depending on how many of these potent beers you've drank.

I only had one before taking that shot 😊 I have the feeling that the more you read my beer reviews, the more likely it is that you'll start drinking beer. 😁

I'm joking, of course. Thanks a lot!

I did have a beer....seriously. I tried pumpkin beer!! It was okay....I didn't like the after taste. But I tried it again. It won't be a regular thing mind you, but I was buying some for my son's visit and saw pumpkin beer, thought it was fun.....:)

Great description, it looks like a great bear!!

It is and I'm glad that you liked the post, man! :-) Thanks a lot 🍺

Nice review... I have never seen that bottle before but if I see it - ill give it a try.

Thanks man! I hope that you can find it 🍻

No opinion at all about organic beers... but send me one and I will have one ;-)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 16 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Haha where should I send it to? :)

I want to try your beer...
Im from Indonesia,

Hi @mime, is craft beer popular in Indonesia?

This post was upvoted & promoted by @monitorcap traffic bot.

Send minimum 1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field and recieve random upvote & post promotion in our daily TOP posts listings. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Wow, Amazing! Will be looking forward to see new content!!!

Did you join Steem to copy paste this meaningless comment all over the place? You got yourself a flag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70