DON'T HAVE TO SMOKE IT !!!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

A funny thing happened on the way to the liquor store.... I walked past the pot shop. Well, after I got to the liquor store, I saw a very unusual beer. And I thought I'd passed the local pot shop, but here was a beer that belonged there - I think. It is called The Hemporer, with an emperor on the label, a big pot bud on his head for a crown and a necklace of leaves. Fascinating, I thought. I needed to check this out.

Imgur
I thought a thorough investigation was needed, so I bought a six-pack, just to be sure.
As you can see, they call it a HPA - a HempPaleAle. It's made by a brewery called New Belgium, a very respected craft brewer out of "Fort Collins, Colorado & Asheville, North Carolina. " Colorado, at least, is the land of the legal pot that you can, after all, get it in many shapes and flavors: candy, cookies, brownies ... why not beer? (Except for Kansas, where they outlawed The Hemporer)

Imgur

As you can see, it says it's 100% employee owned. Which is very cool, although I know of no further information. This beer is described by them as "a new kind of beer blending hemp with hops for complete sensory domination." Legally, hops and pot can not be combined, but this hemp (which is a cousin of pot) has no active ingredient in it. It's worthwhile to watch their information on this:

!https://www.newbelgium.com/thehemperor?gclid=CjwKCAjwsJ3ZBRBJEiwAtuvtlG-1qBlAaNnHfywVKK1LqJ9ReM1lA-M4p8zVqPCigGpKEMZZlygCMxoC4mcQAvD_BwE

And now to the pour. Opening the bottle and pouring the beer made everyone agree that: it smelled like pot. As the glass sat on the table my wife would ask, "Is that still that pot beer?" and I'd say, "It's the hemp beer!" But, according to the above New Belgium info, it's "Dank" beer. It does pour a nice color of brownish/red with a small head and lite carbonation.

Imgur

It tastes like a very solid pale ale with a hint of that "something else." You could taste slight carbonation and it felt smooth on the tongue. The first taste was very pleasant and smooth, then it kinda disappeared for a second before finishing strongly. It settled in very nicely.

Imgur

I don't know where it disappeared to, but it consistently did. That's new to me. It is not a drink-all-day beer at 7 % alc, but it does go down smooth. Would I recommend it? Yeah. It's kinda unique, but also a solid ale besides. Give it a shot and live dangerously.

Cheers to all & all Hail #beersaturday

Sort:  

I want some of that beer... can you send me some? I can't get hemp beer in Australia. :(

Congratulations @dennisauburn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-19T04:01:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.50/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

:D I learned something new today LOLLL :D

That makes it a good day. Thanks, Snook! :-))

Nice review Dennis! Glad to see you posting. I’ve had another hemp infused beer before, wasn’t anything special.

Yeah, life is at a bit of a crossroads, so everything is re-organizing. But - beersaturday must be done. :-)) If you see the Hemporer I'd be interested in what you think. It's not bad - just different.

OMGGGGGG jealous beyond, my beer brother in arms I NEED TO TASTE This ;)

Cheer$;)

It sounds like you're quite enjoying it just thinking about it. Very cool. It was interesting/good, but not great. Drop by dude and we'll go get one. Cheers!

Definitely something different, I haven't seen anything like this here in South Africa.

Well, now you have something to do.... grow and brew. Have fun! :-))

I'm not a beer drinker, but I am going to send this link to a relative who is, and see what he thinks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64