A TROPICAL IPA?

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

Just because I ordered the wrong part for the XR Com Digital Excavator, which only put the production of the unit behind one week, the boss made me go in to work on a Saturday to fix the ... short-term misallocation of correct parts. Damn.
So when I got home I found a note from the ol lady saying she had to fill in at another bowling tournament. But she had left me a gift from the topics.

Imgur

Sometimes she knows me too well. Ballast Point is a well-respected San Diego brewery and their Sculpin IPA has been voted the most popular beer here. I have tried it from time to time, but she knows I like some variation. So, a pineapple IPA would be a reasonable fix for a challenging week. As a general, tasty IPA, Sculpin always has great flavor of fruits and hops, so the addition of pineapple seemed like a great idea.
It poured aggressively.

Imgur

I may have been in too much of a hurry (understandably) when I poured. Obviously, it made a nice forming head. And it did have a noticeable scent of pineapple floating over the top. Excellent.

Imgur

Ballast point beers usually have a nautical theme, with great pictures on the cans. I sat for a drink. And then took another sniff over the glass. It was a little strange to me, I didn't really taste any pineapple, but I could still smell it.
Even the dog seemed a little purplexed.

Imgur

Don't get me wrong, Sculpins are very good on their own. This is the information provided on the Ballast Point web site for the Pineapple Sculpin.

7% Alc
70 IBU

Food pairings: Mango sticky rice
Buttermilk crumb cake
Bay blue cheese
Award: Australian International Beer Award - 2017 Bronze

Even if you don"t have any Mango sticky rice available, if you come across any version of Ballast Point Sculpin, you'll be glad if you give it a try.

All Hail #BeerSatuday !!

Sort:  

Haven't given the Pineapple a try yet, but the original is amazing.

I've been trying to start another contest sort of similar to #beersaturday. It hasn't got much exposure, so I'm here to pass it along. Few contestants means better chances of winning something at the moment! Anyways, check it out if you'd like.
https://steemit.com/contest/@webstar/usdusdusd-beer-money-usdusdusd-round-3-pilsner
Thanks!

Your post is mentioned in this and if you do a nomination post of your own - you might win something :)
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@mariannewest/week-5-pay-it-forward-contest

Thanks. I'll give it a try. :-))

I’ve had this beer a few time and have always enjoyed it. I have to agree with your review it always seems to have more of a pineapple aroma vs flavor.

Still a nice drink, but it is interesting. Thanks for reading.

Great review man, your wife is very good leaving you some tasty beers... Pineapple IPA is not one I've tried yet... I had a lovely Double IPA last night while watching the champions league... It was really fruity, maybe a little too fruity, but still it was a very good beer.. Think I'll review it next week..

Thanks. I look forward to your next week's review. A double very fruity - very cool. Cheers.

Cheers man..

i have had their regular sculpin, didn't really like it that much.

Somehow, I didn't figure you would. I'll keep trying tho.

I enjoyed your article. I have upvoted you courtesy of @mariannewest. This great lady is forever supporting other people.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@mariannewest/week-5-pay-it-forward-contest

I am not a connoisseur of beer, but the pineapple thing sounds a bit wild. I love the beer cans, though. And I like your humour.

Thanks for reading. Yeah, beer art is taking the place of great album covers. Things move on... :-))

Pineapple in beer sounds odd. I have had those flavours before and they can work really well in an IPA. That’s great that they won an Australian award. It means I should be able to find them over here. :)

Let me know if you find it and what you think of it.

Sounds tasty. @mariannewest chose your post, so I came to read it. Good job. Congratulations 👏

Thanks for dropping by. I'll have to thank @mariannewest for her props.

@mariannewest featured you in the pay it forward contest

I'll thank @mariannewest for your dropping by. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64