Kentucky Breakfast Stout (KBS) (2018)

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Kentucky Breakfast Stout (KBS) (2018) by Founders Brewing

57DD1F9B-1481-4786-8212-AFBAE6814282.jpeg

What we’ve got here is an imperial stout brewed with a massive amount of coffee and chocolates, then cave-aged in oak bourbon barrels for an entire year to make sure wonderful bourbon undertones come through in the finish. Makes your taste buds squeal with delight.

954381D6-08F1-4BB8-8157-E76AED6BB91C.jpeg

As the label says, this beer is ‘Highly Acclaimed’ which makes it hard to find. KBS week in Michigan is a religious experience for the craft beer connoisseur. Founders has a release party to kick off week followed by KBS tapings across the state and now the country. However, the real fun begins when they start disturbing the beer to stores. I’ve waited in lines, paid people for the bottles and have been that guy calling all my local shops just to get a single bottle.

FA035A29-F932-476C-B318-83FB5DCCAF54.jpeg

This year I lucked out and ended up picking up the last four pack at the store. The best part is you have to know to ask for it, as most places don’t even put it out on the shelves.

E05760EC-E058-4D98-A1E2-3A470BF7FEEA.jpeg

So enough of the backstory. let’s get down to the drinking. KBS pours jet black like a strong pot of coffee. There is a thin lacing of brow/tan head. The color is exactly what you'd expect for a stout of this caliber. The smell is subtler this year, but opens up as the beer warms. As for the flavor, it is all dark chocolate, vanilla and bourbon. I’m liking this year’s release better than the 2017.

Cheers,
Cryptictruth

Sort:  

The first time I had KBS was at a beer festival. A buddy and I waited for half an hour to get a tiny pour of it. If we hadn't been smart changing out who left line to get something else to drink we might not have thought the wait was worth it. I've been lucky enough to find a bottle or two since then.

Virtual toast!
kbs.jpg

I do think putting "Highly Acclaimed" on their label is strangely arrogant.

I’m loving this reply. They know it’s good, but I agree it can come off that way.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 04:08:10
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 493.74/800.00
Total Photos: 60
Total comments: 85
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That sounds so good, I'm heading to Michigan next week and will have to keep my eyes open for that beer style!

It’s going to be tough to find, but if you do but it! Be carful some people will try sell you it way above the recommended retail. 23.99-25.99
Is a good price point per 4-pack.

Good to know, thanks!

No problem glad to help. I need to know anything more about Michigan beer let me know.

This post has received a 2.31% upvote from thanks to: @cryptictruth.
For more information, click here!!!!

Try the new Minnowhelper Bots for more information here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Dang, I have been wanting to try this beer. I heard tell it is coming to Montana, so will wait and see. Good looking beer, I have heard nothing but good about it.

I hope you find it. This is in my top three favorite beers of all time.

This post has received a 0.09 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @cryptictruth.

I don't know what you mean about hard to find. The other day at seven-eleven I picked up a 2-for-one special. It was only $5- . Oh, my friend just told me you're talking about KBS. I was talking about PBR....never mind. I didn't realize that you are talking about real beer. Great review. Thanks :-))

That would be the deal if the century of you could get a 2 for 1 special on KBS.

Looks like a fantastic beer, it is a pity that you can only get it once a year!!

I thinks as Founders grows the supply will get bigger making it easier to find for longer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48