Beer Review - #BeerSaturday - Irish Death

For my first #BeerSaturday post I choose a beer that is one of my all time favorites. A lovely dark smooth ale from the great Northwestern USA. I happened across this beer in a bar in Montana, the name was a give away on having to try it. Irish Death. Who wouldn't want to taste that! So here goes.

Iron Horse Brewery - Quilter's Irish Death

IMG-3435.JPG

Stats

  • Brewed By: Iron Horse Brewery - Ellensburg, Washington
  • Alcohol Content: 7.5%
  • IBU: 12
  • Company Description: Created by the brewery’s founder, Quilter’s Irish Death is The Iron Horse Brewery Flagship Beer. The color of this beer belies its drinkability. We lovingly refer to it as beer candy. Irish Death is loaded with a f#*!-ton of different malts and just enough hop presence for balance. Smooth enough to session, but too strong to do so.

IMG-3436.JPG

Presentation
I had this beer from a 12-oz can, they also offer it in bottles, both 12 and 22 oz, and of course, on draught. The can art is heavy on the skulls, which of course, gibs with the Irish death theme. Has some nice Celtic runes in gold behind a large white skull on a black background.

IMG-3438.JPG
IMG-3439.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: The beer is a dark dark brown to almost black and it had a moderate tan colored head on the pour. The head disappeared quite rapidly.
  • Aroma: Had a nice roasted malty aroma.
  • Taste: Had a great taste, medium strong with hints of coffee and fine carmamelish smoothness. A really tasty beer. In the words of one fan on Facebook from 2015 (this is on the can): "Irish Death is like Barry White's voice traveling down a well oiled bowling lane into a pile of teddy bears." (Thanks to Cassie for this lovely description!)
  • Mouthfeel: creamy and smooth with a slight carbonation.
  • Drinkability: A very drinkable beer but be careful at nearly 8% abv it won't take too many to put you down for the night.

IMG-3437.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


As I stated above, this is one of my favorite beers, and I rated it as such, giving it a solid 4.75 on Untappd, where it has an overall rating of 3.91. I always want to call this a brown ale but according to Iron Horse, it is not a stout, not a porter, its Irish Death. LOL, but also a dark smooth ale. I would highly recommend this if you can find it. Enjoy!

4.75/5

This is a post for #BeerSaturday so If you do enjoy my review, please upvote, comment and follow me @bigskycustoms. I plan to be adding a lot more beer reviews in the future. thanks!

Sort:  

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

Thanks. Guess I don’t know much about those, still a noob. How do they work?

if use use a community like that it gets your posts more exposure. The more you vote for others on sites like SteemEngine the more votes you will get back in return.

Gotcha, thanks for the info

I will check out the websites. Would you mind upvoting this post, I am in the beersaturday contest and more votes will help me.

Just had one myself. Reply for an overdue upvote!

You have a new follower and craft beer fan!!!!

Thanks, would you mind upvoting the post? Thanks, I'll be following you also.

A classic, steem follower is a place where you upvote other posts everyday, and as you upvote you build points, so eventually you are on the trending list, I need to take a look at it still, I've been meaning to use it, basically free votes if you are making quality posts

Continue sharing your interests with others! Our goal is to support newcomers as they come onboard.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

I enjoyed the pictures and the review. If I see it - I will drink it! :-))

Thanks, glad you liked the review! I can almost guarantee you’ll like it.

Love how this was written, as if we could taste the beer already. Wish I could give my beers a similar review.

Wil try this next time. See you on the next round!🍻

Thanks! Let me know if you find this and what you think!

Congratulations @bigskycustoms! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have read a few beer reviews, and I gotta say:

FIRST RATE WRITING AND RATING, BIG DADDY!!!

I gave it the vote it deserves, at least in percentages. Too bad my son is not on here, he has an account and Loves Craft Beers, much more than I do! This one looks to be a winner, I do not drink very often but I'm tempted to get 6 pack or w/e it comes in! I can tell from your review that it is in that band of flavors that I would enjoy. Good ABV also ;)

Thanks MBC, appreciate the comments, I’ve tried to improve my posts, I need to get a few more up. You know jake thgt my custom figurines would be good but the beer is doing much better so I’ve mainly gone with those.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75