Beeroftheday - Otra Vez

in #beeroftheday6 years ago

Dont' really have much to say today but had to share this beer with the world! I know Sierra Nevada is a big player and maybe this beer is well known to the US peeps, but over here, I don't get a lot of their stuff.

20180130_184923.jpg

Cactus, coriander, grapefruit gose style beer. What? Yep, cactus.

20180130_184937.jpg

Light clear colour; lactic lemony aromas, some citrusy fruitnes but overall a pretty clean aroma. Starts slightly sweet then the sourness kicks in. Lovely tartness; medium body.
20180130_185040.jpg

Overall, it's delicious, I could keep drinking this for a whole summer afternoon. If you like your sours and stumble upon this one, go for it!
20180130_185103.jpg

Cheers!

Sort:  

Yknow, I had this beer, and thought it was 'ok', nothing more. Its a simple example of the style, which is to be expected from a mainstream brewery (and everything SN does it at least pretty good), but it wasn't as unique or distinct as I'd want in a gose. Still...plenty drinkable!

I found it deliciously easy to drink but I agree with what you say, nothing extraordinary and definitively nowhere near a real gose. Anyway, tomorrow I'm having a sour evening, starting with a Gueuze style one I have high hopes for, heh.

I have really come to love this style because of the salt! These beers originate from Goslar, Germany where the water was salty. I think anytime you have salty and sweet together, it's a winning combo. If you want to try a Gose in it's purest form, grab a Leipziger Gose by Gasthaus. This beer really showcases the style well. However, once craft brewers got a hold of this recipe, they have made significant enhancements. You can now find great Gose all over the US and Europe which feature even more flavor. While the original Leipziger still remains the true Gose, it is quite subtle and I like some of the extremes that U.S. brewers have brought to the style. The Otra Vez was a great exploration in the style, but I did find the prickly pear to go overboard and the added coriander to leave it a little confusing.

I agree with your notes on the saltiness; it works great this style. I quite liked the coriander in the Otra Vez to be hones, heh.
Thanks for the tip on the Leipziger Gose; I had a look online but can't find one from Gasthaus. I found some by Bayerischer Bahnhof; I'll add it next time I order some beer.
Cheers

Not a fan of beer but looks delicious! :)

Mersi!
I do believe there is a beer for anyone, it's just about finding the right style. There's such a huge range of tastes/styles that sometimes you have to double check you're actually drinking beer, heh.

Hahaha, indeed! :D

Thank you costopher for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.12% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95