Beer Review: Ballast Point Nitro Golden Oatmeal Stout with Red Beets and Chocolate.

in #beer7 years ago

Ok. What the heck did I just put in my mouth?

Once my brain picks itself up off the floor, it responds: 'Ballast Point Nitro Golden Oatmeal Stout with Red Beets and Chocolate, sweetie pie.'

Backstory

Let's step back in time, shall we?

So there I was, driving to Chicago to help my mother-in-law move some heavy stuff a couple days ago. She called and asked what kind of beer she should get. I said 'If you can find anything from Ballast Point, grab it.' She called back a couple minutes later and said they had something called 'Red Velvet'. I had no idea what it was, and since I was driving I was not about to go researching. Thinking it would probably be a rye IPA or possible a red ale, I said 'Sounds good.'

Can't go wrong with Ballast Point, right?

Right out of the gate, the packaging is super sweet. (That should have probably tipped me off.) A shrink-wrapped full bottle label around each 12oz bottle contains some truly epic artwork, and the 6-pack cardboard holster contains the full panoramic view of some skeletons enjoying this fine Golden Oatmeal Stout with Red Beets and Chocolate. The king skeleton is also munching on an entire chocolate cake. That should have been my second clue.

Poured out of the bottle in the safety of the kitchen, then taken out into the late afternoon sun, I was almost blinded by the saturated redness of the brew. Who knew beets could be so red? Or beer? Or beet beer?

Key Points:

Alcohol: This is a pretty mild brew at 5.5%. You're more likely to get diabetes before you get drunk off this stuff.  

Glassware: A thick walled mug would be appropriate for this beer, which is what I used. I'm not entirely sure there is a proper glass for a 'Golden Oatmeal Stout with Red Beets and Chocolate', so I may be somewhat off base.

Temperature: For a normal oatmeal stout I like to be above 50F on serving temperature, maybe even 55F.

For this freakshow, I have no idea.

Hops: Hops? What hops. No hops here, as far as I can tell. This is all sweetness and flavors.

Availability: I've never seen this beer before, so I have no idea how widely they are distributing this. It might be a limited release.

Style Golden Oatmeal Stout
Country USA
Brewery Ballast Point Brewing Company, USA
Alcohol 5.5%


Appearance Very foamy white, clean head, which is your first clue this is no normal stout. The nitro does a good job of offering a billowing smooth head. Active and lively carbonation.
Aroma Chocolate and sugar. It's like a candy bar took a dump in my beer.
Taste Guess what. Sweet! You can taste the chocolate flavor, and maybe a bit of vanilla. Zero hops taste, maybe a bit of an organically vegetal flavor that could have been the beets.
Palate It's fun to drink, actually, and offers a very smooth and sweet aftertaste. Clean flavor once the minor malt body disappears.


Overall Nitro Red Velvet is a weird beer. It looks weird, has weird packaging, and tastes weird. It's dangerously close to some kind of mixed drink, and doesn't retain much of what a beer ought to be. Buy one for the novelty, but no more. You don't actually want to get diabetes.
My Score 62/100

Consensus from the Masses:

I guess the good folks at ratebeer.com weren't overly impressed either.

Still, I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I mostly enjoyed drinking what I wrote about!

Sort:  

I haven't ever seen a "golden stout" before. Is that a real style? And if so, what makes it a stout rather than some generic ale style?

It's so far outside the rules, they kind of have to make a new rule for it. A stout is defined by having a certain color, as well as roasted malt. I doubt they have roasted malt in this one, and it certain has no darkness in the color. I personally don't think it counts as a stout.

I'm personally a fan of Red Velvet. At this point my beer taste is kind of like my taste in movies; as long as it's not another remake or super hero movie I'm interested. Red Velvet is definitely different, but that's what I like about it. There are plenty of great IPAs out there, but I find it refreshing to sip on beet beer once in a while....cheers!

You are not wrong in saying that. Not to mention I drank 5 bottles of that 6 pack in one evening, so I certainly didn't hate it enough to not drink it. That said, if I had other options available I would've drank those instead. Probably. :)

Haha, by volume I guess you like it more than I do....I haven't had more than two at a time.

This looks like something I would get if I would see it in a shop. But I would probably have the same reaction you had; I'm not really a fan of sweet/candy beers either.

I'd buy it for the packaging alone. The beer inside is just a bonus. Well, sort of a bonus. Maybe a burden.

Congratulations @negativer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by negativer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I like stout a lot but have not seen this before, looks great.

We just had a beer festival and I shared some pics on my blog, feel free to see them..Love beers.

Thanks for sharing this..wanna taste it..haha

Thanks! Your beer post looks good. I wish I could get to Germany to try German beer right at the source! And sausages.

you are welcome, feel free to come for a cold beer and Nurnberger bradwurst...

They couldn't pack more things into this beer if they tried I'm sure! I don't know whether to be excited to try something so out there, or nervous about it!

It's a great beer to try at least once, as long as you're not expecting anything specific. It's probably best as a dessert beer (if there is such a thing!)

I feel like I have to try it now just to understand what it's really like. I struggle with Ballast Point beers, to me they are hit or miss. I love all of the Sculpins, but randomly I'll try something of theirs and it just won't come together for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29