Beer tasting - Põhjala HOOAEG - Dry Hopped Saison

in #beer7 years ago

As a beer lover, I love enjoying beers, especially heavily hopped ones. On the other hand I like a lot the Saisons, and their unique spicy phenolic yeast profile. So... this beer was somehow a natural choice for me in the beer shop.

IMG_7499.JPG

It's a 330ml bottle at 5,5% alcohol. I have enjoyed every beer from this brewery so far, so I had a great expectations of this particular one too.

IMG_7500.JPG

Opening the bottle, the hop aroma almost immediately kicks you in the nose. And to be honest, I've never experienced such scents... Very fruity, but different from anything that I had tasted. It reminded me of bubble-gum fruitiness. In Bulgaria there was one kind of bubble gum - Kid's orbit. I recalled its taste. A lot of mango-watermelon aroma, some pineapple maybe. Nothing close to this lemon-grapefruit citrus aromas, that can be found in the most IPAs.

Pouring it into the glass, it made a huge white head, with somewhat harsh structure of the foam. Very rough one. Maybe it's due to the saison yeast profile of the beer. I've experienced similar foam structure in my beers too. This one definitely didn't last very long and soon disappeared entirely.

IMG_7501.JPG

IMG_7503.JPG

The color is golden hay, a little bit hazy in the glass. The strong hop aromas weakened a little bit, but were still very fresh and fruity. Not so much "bubble gum" aroma, just very pleasant mango - watermelon ones.
When trying it, the first thing to feel alongside the hop flavor is a very malty-grainy taste. A medium body beer with some malt sweetness. The finish is a little bit bitter and spicy from the saison yeast strain. The carbonation is still a little bit harsh, and I would like it to be softer.
Anyway, the beer presented itself well, above the average, but I was maybe expecting a bit more from this brewery.
My score is 8/10. Would like to see more from the saison style, this wan was a little bit more IPA-ish.

Here are some more photos:

IMG_7498.JPG

IMG_7502.JPG

IMG_7504.JPG

IMG_7505.JPG

Thank you for reading and please, upvote this post if you love beer!
Also, check my other posts about beer. A great Belgian Lambic, and some Milk Stout in the last posts.
https://steemit.com/beer/@mdosev/sour-beer-tasting-oud-beersel-s-oude-geuze-vieille
https://steemit.com/beer/@mdosev/beer-review-to-ol-by-udder-means-brilliant-lacto-stout

See you soon! Best wishes, Miroslav!

Sort:  

It's not often, but occasionally I like a fruity saison. Looks pretty good to me. Cheers!

Congratulations @mdosev! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Looks Good! Great pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59