Beer review - To Øl By Udder Means - brilliant lacto stout.

in #beer7 years ago

Going to the capital of Bulgaria this weekend, I visited my favourite beer shop "100beers" and picked this black pearl - By Udder Means by the To Øl guys. It's a stout, which was brewed with a huuge amount of lactose, and it is said to be 7% of alcohol. The seller assured me, that I had made a great choice, picking this beer.
IMG_7471.JPG

Opening it, I immediately noticed strong dark malt aroma, and pouring the beer into the glass, it made a huuge dark-brownish head, which was so thick, that I felt I could eat it with a spoon. On the first sight it was carbonated just the right level with no excessive bubbles coming from it.
IMG_7472.JPG

IMG_7474.JPG

On the nose I could notice a vast amount of dark and roasted malts, giving some very nice coffee and cocoa aromas. Reminded me of dark chocolate. I could also get some citrus aromas on the background, which were blending perfectly with the roastiness of the beer.
IMG_7476.JPG

Having the sip - very, very creamy feel and very smooth carbonation. Definitely a very full body, coming from the lactose I think. Thick body with not much of a sweetness. I don't like sweet beers at all, but this one was blended perfectly. In the aftertaste some bitterness of the roasted malts to be experienced and some hops bitterness as well.

After all, I could say only - Perfect beer. The guys of To Øl make miracles with beers, they make. I'm definitely a fan of theirs and would like to try all their beers... And as we know they are literally tens or hundreds of beers. Always great job!
My score would be 9.8/10!!!! Top of the top. I want more!

IMG_7473.JPG
IMG_7477.JPG
IMG_7478.JPG

And the head stayed till the end! It was very pleasant and relaxing end of the day.
Cheers and stand by for other reviews of great beers.
Don't forget to check my travel posts of Croatia, Slovenia and Hungary too!

Bye for now, and thank you for reading! Best regards, Miroslav!

Sort:  

Delicious! Porters and stouts are my favourite and this one looks exquisite!

I was expecting it to be good, but it actually turned to be great! I was definitely amazed!

Наздраве, Миро!

Наздраве! И честит празник!

Мерси, честит и на теб!

That's quite interesting. One of my favorite brews that I make is what is called a Milk Stout, or Cream Stout if you will. My understanding is that the yeast does not convert lactose to alcohol, so that's what adds a layer of sweetness to the end product. I do like my dark beers a little on the sweet side, so that works for me. I'll have to research that a little more to make sure.

Looks like this one would become one of my favorites though, sweet or not, if I could ever find one here.

Yup! Thats true for the yeast and the lactose, but somewhat it still isn't so sweet at all. Cheers!

Yeah, I find it to add a subtle sweetness, rather than an overt sweetness. I think that's why I like it so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34