Sour beer tasting - Oud Beersel's Oude Geuze Vieille

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7485.JPG
Oh my god... Such a nice Belgian present from a friend of mine, who came back from Belgium last week. He knows my passion for sours, and definitely got me a great beer - Oude Geuze Vieille - awarded with gold on the World Beer Rewards 2015.

IMG_7486.JPG

The beer is Lambic style spontaneous fermented and was in 375ml champagne style bottle, which is common for these spontaneously fermented "diamonds"!!!

Pours in the glass in golden hue, a lot of white head, which dissolves quickly. In fact, not so strong brett aroma, and somewhat is a balance between sourness/lemongrass/sour citrus and brett character. Also a very distinctive wet leather/mold aroma... Wooohooo great!

IMG_7488.JPG

Tasting it, gives a great complexity of malts, tartness, light citrus flavor and some oak wood tanins. Brett has also it's big influence in the flavor profile and gives balance to everything. A final touch of some bitterness is the great finish of this sweetie! After all, it has a lot to share with white wines in my opinion.

It's clear why it scored so well in the beer competition. It's a pity only that I had just one bottle to enjoy. I don't know why, but I love this beer style. I also think it would be a perfect match for some high class gourmet dinner. Would definitely give this bottle a 10/10.

Now let me give you some more photos:
IMG_7484.JPG

IMG_7487.JPG

IMG_7490.JPG

IMG_7493.JPG

IMG_7494.JPG

Please give an upvote for this piece of art. See you soon, bye!
Cheers, Miroslav!

Sort:  

One of the few Belgian geuze/lambic breweries I have left to try! Great review!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85