The Lord of the Beer #28 Affligem Hop SelectionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago

Hello Steemians !

Today, I decided to try again an Affligem ! I already tasted the triple in one of my first post and it was a great discovery. So when I had the chance to taste another Affligem, the Hop Selection, I jumped on it !
Or maybe I should say that it's this beer that jumped on me. Let me explain, we were at my parent's house and my neighbor came by with this new beer. It’s funny because he’s the one who brought the Triple when I spoke to him about it.
He’s an old man who likes drinking beers, his favorite is the Chimay blue and we love speaking about beers with each other.

Description

 
This is a blond beer with 6.8%, it’s also an Abbey beer and here is the link where I explain what is an Abbey beer. It seems that it’s a hard beer to find as in the Affligem site, it isn’t there.
Moreover, it was hard to find info for this one so I’m giving you a general info instead. You have to know that in Belgium, each beer has its own glass and believe me, there is a lot of them. When you drink a special beer, it always tastes better in the correct glass.
And here is how the Affligem glass looks like.


Tasting

 
Time to taste ! The smell was quite specific as it smells a little fruity, but not fruity like a lambic. Now the taste, it has a pretty simple taste I think but you feel a strong malt taste. This beer is also bitter but it doesn’t last long, for example, the other affligem I tasted was bitter and the bitterness last in a long after taste. It’s also pretty soft.

Rating

 
I rate this beer 13/20, it’s a good beer I think. It has its specific taste and is in some way similar to the other Affligem. By saying that, I mean if you taste those two beers without knowing they’re made by the same brewer, you’ll still feel they’re quite similar. However, you’re beginning to know me and I’m not friend with bitterness so I’m not a huge fan of this beer.
 


 
That's it for today, I hope you like this review and be sure to upvote and follow me for more, there will be one post per day !
Don't hesitate to recommend me a beer which you'd want that I review !
Check out another Lord of the beer here !
 
See you one day in Belgium !
 
photo_2017-07-12_18-24-37.jpg

Sort:  

Beer Drink of Gods, Priests and Workers

Did you know that ancient Egyptians drank beer and actually baptised their children in beer? Crazy, but true! Here is an awesome site where you can learn more about the history of beer: Beer in Ancient Egypt

Image Source Credit: WWW.CAIROSCENE.COM

Thank you for your posts! I follow you because beer is a big part of my diet!

Ahah beer is love, beer is life ! :D

That is not bad!

I'm telling my wife, woohoo!

Congratulations @jarendesta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice review! I wonder if the hop selection is only available in Belgium? I have never seen it in the States. I'm enjoying reading your reviews. I went to Belgium once with the intention of trying as many of the incredible beers as possible! It was a great trip and I also thoroughly enjoyed the food of Belgium. Especially the eel in green sauce. I don't think you reviewed this beer yet?

I recently had this Belgian golden ale in New York and enjoyed the taste and body. Do you enjoy any American beers?

Yeah I love this beer too and I was searching in my previous post to find to link to its review, I was certain that I did it :p Anyway, I'll do a review of this one ! :D
And btw, thanks for your support :)

Congratulations @jarendesta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hope its also be really good that u share this with lord of beer lable and i also amaized to see ur collection of beers how many types beers are in ur collection @jarendesta if u count

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48