The Lord of the Beer #9 AffligemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago

Hello Steemians !

Today I chose another Abbey beer which is the Affligem. It's a beer that a friend of me already review and I encourage you to check out his post about it ! (Here is the link : https://steemit.com/beer/@buzzbeergeek/beer-tasting-affligem-tripel-by-brouwerij-affligem-de-smedt )
Thanks to @buzzbeergeek, I got the occasion to test this beer that I nearly never have heard of. It was a little hard to find but I finally managed to get one ! And what a discovery !

Description

 
The Affligem is a brand with the label Abbey beer, I explained what is that label in another post and you can check it out here : https://steemit.com/beer/@jarendesta/the-lord-of-the-beer-6-grimbergen
The Affligem brewery makes 6 beers, each with the label Abbey, they are principally commercialized in Belgium and exported in France. I'd say that on one side there are 3 main beers : the blond, the double and the triple and on the other side, 3 other less known beers : the Christmas, the Patersvat and the 950 Cuvée. The last one is a beer specially made for the 950-year-old anniversary of the Affligem Abbey.
For this review, I tested the triple, it's a blond beer with 8.5% and multiple winners of the Best Belgian Triple !

Tasting

 
Time to taste ! This beer has a very pleasant smell but I couldn't describe it until I took the first sip. This taste was citrus and I think it's quite rare for a beer to have this taste so pronounced. It's an explosion of flavor with the sparklingness and the citrus taste. There is also a long and bitter aftertaste. It may seem that it's a simple beer with that description but I can tell you that it's a more complex taste.
Fun fact, this beer is in a bottle of 30cl while it usually is 33cl, it surprised me when I saw it.

Rating

 
I rate this beer 12/20, I really love the taste of this beer ! However, since I don't like bitterness, the long and bitter after taste is the only thing that I don't like in this beer. I'm quite sad about it because the first taste is just amazing and is even one of my favorite. I really encourage you to try this beer, it's really worth it !
 


 
That's it for today, I hope you like this review and be sure to upvote and follow me for more, there will be one review per day !
Don't hesitate to recommend me a beer which you'd want that I review !
Check out another Lord of the beer : https://steemit.com/beer/@jarendesta/the-lord-of-the-beer-8-ramee
 
See you one day in Belgium !
 
photo_2017-07-12_18-24-37.jpg

Sort:  

Nice review! Here in Holland you can sometimes find it available on draught. I agree it's a very nice beer. Just be careful if you sink several of them in the same night, you may have trouble walking in a straight line haha

Ahah indeed ! It was a great discovery for me ! And I think every beer is better on draught don't you think ?

Congratulations @jarendesta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks ! But where does this beer come from ? I've never heard of it

;-) The NZ printed on the label should give you a clue...

Ahah ok got it ;-) I'll try it if I find it !

Tastes good due to the fact that they use pristine water for the brewing. Does not give you headaches

Great and is it well exported ? I mean do I have a chance to find it in Belgium ?

I used to live in The Netherlands, but have not seen them there, small chance that you will find them in Belgium ;(

Ok thanks for the info :)

Nice article thanks for sharing

@jarendesta

I'm glad you enjoy it ! :D

I wish you best of luck to your effort !

@jarendesta

Thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82