The Lord of the Beer #13 MaessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians !

The beer for today represents the never-ending battle between the two main pils producers in Belgium. I already talked about the first one in the Lord of the beer #1, here is the link if you want to remind it : https://steemit.com/life/@jarendesta/the-lord-of-the-beer-1-jupiler
Of course, I have to pick a side but my choice is already made, my heart goes for the Maes.

Description

 
Created in 1946, the Maes is a pils with 5.2% and its story is quite interesting, I heard of it during my studies. Once upon a time, Maes decided to compete with Jupiler and to take some market share and for that, it adopted a very special strategy. It simply consists in giving A LOT of Maes for free. First, everyone whose name was Maes, a name quite popular in the north of the country, received a crate of beer. Then, for 3 months if my memory is correct, they drove a truck in Belgium saying that if you put an empty crate on your front door, they'll refill it with Maes, no matter the brand's crate you put. After all that marketing, their market share was even.

Tasting

 
It’s time for the tasting ! It's a very refreshing beer with a little taste of bitterness, very sparkling. Hard to explain but I'd say that the sparkling stays a while in the mouth. It's less sweet than Jupiler and doesn't have any real pronounced after taste. It still has its own special taste that makes me love this one more than the Jupiler.

Rating

 
For this blond beer I give an 11/20 but don't get me wrong, it's a great pils and even my favorite one. However, compared with any other special or Trappist beer, well there is no choice, I'm always gonna pick the special one.
 


 
That's it for today and if you like this review be sure to upvote and follow me for more, there will be one review per day !
Check out another Lord of the beer : https://steemit.com/beer/@jarendesta/the-lord-of-the-beer-12-pecheresse
 
See you one day in Belgium !
 
photo_2017-07-12_18-24-37.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @jarendesta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

amazing.... this post is so awesome.

@jarendesta

Thank you :)

There would be happy, like Homer

Ahah I'm a fan of the Simpsons too :D

beer :P my favorites nice following you follow me back so that we can share some beer some day ;)

With pleasure ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43