Beer Cake - Chocolate Stout Cake with Chocolate Fudge Buttercream

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170915_203006_715_2.jpg

Hello hello,

Week end is here and I am so happy for that! That means I can have some time for relaxing after having a busy week. I am currently participating in two culinary contest in Steemit which require a lot of work time, well at least for me. Besides the creation of the dish itself, it is very important for me to take some good pictures of the dish to help the judge scoring the work. In my opinion, the visual of the dish is as important as the taste. That is what I learnt from watching too much cooking contest in the television as well. I am not good in plating but I'm always trying to catch up with food photography. These days, people aren't only enjoying food with their palates, but also with their eyes.

Anyway, I am here now to share with you my latest creation. I made this as a gift for a good friend who celebrates his birthday TODAY but I gave it to him yesterday because he was having his farewell party and birthday celebration at that time. He will also be moving out from Belgium for a while to work in Singapore. I am a little bit sad to see him leaving because he's been a good friend since the first time I met him 5 years ago. He's also one of my partner's best friend.

Since he's a huge fan of beer and chocolate, I decided to combine his two favorites in a cake. I once made this kind of cake for my partner's birthday last month. At that time, I used Guinness as for this time I used another stout style beer: Big Mama from Novabirra Brewery.

There's a slight difference in the cake. If you use Guinness, you will have a strong smell of beer in the cake. On the contrary, Novabirra has a soft smell of beer. We wont even notice that there's beer in the cake mixture. Personally, I prefer using Novabirra, but my partner prefers Guinness. But dont worry, both are still delicious.

IMG_20170916_111545_885.jpg

For the buttercream, I opted for Chocolate Fudge Buttercream because I wanted the cake to be in the chocolate universe :-D

beer cake 7.jpg

The cake is a four layers cake. It's enough to serve 12-15 people (normal portion). The cake is quite tall.

IMG_20170916_111652_952.jpg

I opted for a naked cake decoration because I want the cake to be simple yet classy.

IMG_20170916_111638_457.jpg

For the chocolate drip, I added some rice syrup in my chocolate ganache to make it shiny.

IMG_20170916_111612_890_2.jpg

Look at those chocolate barks!! Aren't they beautiful? :-D It's super duper easy making homemade chocolate barks at home, you just need to melt the chocolate and spread it on to parchment paper and wait until it dries. I added some cacao powder on top of it to make it more beautiful :-)

IMG_20170915_203611_541_2.jpg

So, what do you think about the cake? My friend was so happy for his cake and I am happy seeing him happy. So for me, that's what matters the most.

IMG_20170915_204258_304.jpg

If you like my post, please do not hesitate to upvote and resteem :-) Thank you everyone for reading.

Have a nice week end,
signature-fonts

All work and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

Wooooow, this looks so yummy.

The "Beer-drinkers-death-for-chocolate" cake. Love to have you with the #BeerSaturday Challenge

Oh gosh, I should have came up with that name. That sounds cooler :-D

Another master piece, friend. You can easily open a bake shop and there will be long line up. Haha, I will be first in line.

I'd love to open one one day. I already started to find a good name for my future bake shop. Do you have any idea? :-D Anyway, thanks for your support:-)

I remember this words in your profile and they stayed with me:

"Eat Well & Do Good"

It might be a good name for your future bake shop because it reflects who you are @ikaputri3

(^_^)/

That's a good idea. It's quite a long name though. Maybe I'll find a short name and write those words under.. Thanks for your kind words. It's a nice of you :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ikaputri3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

talk about naughty, wow !!!!

Haha.. naughty, it is :-D Thanks for stopping by @clumsysilverdad :-)

Just one word : Wonderful
You are absolutely right about the visual of the dish my friend, it is really very important! We eat with the eyes first!
And your photos always do justice to your food.
Happy Sunday!

Thank you chef for your kind words. I am trying to make a decent food becomes more appetising with food photography. I am actually not good in plating though :-D Anyway, thanks for stopping by chef! Have a nice day too.

This is incredible! I'm speechless! I might make this cake for my own birthday! It's not even close but I will let you know if and when I make it :) You're inspiring!!

Oooh it's a nice of you. Thanks for your kinds words. I'd love to make you one if we're close to each other. I am sure you can make it by yourself . You're an amazing cook as well ;-)

OMGGGG - this was calling me from a mile away!! Lol... I love how you got it with the almost all white background - beautiful! Shows off the cake beautifully. Don't worry about the plating - I love it natural like this, rather than heavily posed shots! How can your friend not be happy for this...!!! :D Darn - I so want a slice of that now... 😋

I should have asked my friend to bring one slice for you since he flew to SG. Maybe he could make a stop over in MY :-D Anyway, thanks for your nice words @ackhoo :-)

I am a chocoholic and a beer lover, this is the best of both worlds.

Yes, indeed! Best of best from two worlds! Next time I'll try with porter style beer. Thank you for reading @rynow :-)

Wow, beer in cake, that is the best combination since, Bert and Ernie

Yes! Beer and chocolate are perfect together :-) Thanks @harveyword :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52