Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes with Chocolate Fudge Frosting - Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170820_224630_372.jpg

Today, we were invited by my partner's brother to have a dinner with his family on the occasion of my partner's birthday. As usual, I need to bring something because you can't just come empty handed. After checking my fridge, I still have one homegrown zucchini so I decided to make a dessert with it. And yes, my choice went to Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes with Chocolate Fudge Frosting.

I have shared before the recipe on my blog. It was the recipe for Chocolate Zucchini Cake but this time I made some cupcakes using half of that recipe. Worry not, I rewrite the recipe with the measurements adjusted for cupcakes.

IMG_20170820_231439_114.jpg

CHOCOLATE ZUCCHINI CUPCAKES

Yield: 18 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup + 3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp instant espresso powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup avocado oil
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp dark brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs at room temperature
  • 3 tbsp sour cream at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 - 2 cups shredded zucchini, squeeze them a little bit to reduce some moisture
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Methods

  • Preheat oven to 180°C, line muffin/cupcakes tin with cupcakes liners, set aside.
  • In a clean bowl, whisk flour, cocoa power, baking soda, baking powder, instant espresso powder, and salt, set aside.
  • Using stand mixer or handheld mixer fitted with paddle attachment, mix the oil, granulated sugar, brown sugar, eggs, sour cream, vanilla, and zucchini together until well combined.
  • Add in dry ingredients until well mixed and fold in chocolate chips.
  • Pour batter evenly into cupcakes liners (2/3 full) and bake for 18 minutes or until cooked evenly, insert a toothpick to check, if it comes out clean, it's done.
  • Allow the cupcakes to cool completely before putting frosting.

zuc 10.jpg

For the frosting, I used my previous recipe that I posted along with the zucchini cake.

I dont want to top the cupcakes with loads of frosting, that's why I opted for rosette decoration. I used Wilton 2D tip for this beautiful rosette :-)

zuc 7.jpg

Tonight is zucchini nights because we were served Vegan Baked Zucchini as a main course. It's funny because our little nephew didn't want to eat his zucchini but when he tried the cupcakes, he didn't realize that there were also zucchini in it. He ate it without any complain :-D

zuc 11.jpg

A box full of chocolate and love ❤️

If you like this post, please upvote and resteem :-)

Cheers,
signature-fonts

*PS: All photos are mine and were taken with Nikon P610.

Sort:  

Oh boy, got me making a grocery list!! Thanks

Haha.. sorry! But it's worth a try @steem-samiam! Thanks for stopping by.

Great piping skills! These look amazing- love that box too! Resteemed!

Thanks @jaymorebeet! Wish I could send one box for you!

These look and sound just wow. I'm trying this recipe! Always wanted to use zucchini in desserts but never had the chance to try it! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

This has became one of my fav chocolate dessert ever. Please do give it a try! Thanks for passing by @amy-goodrich! :-)

These look great! Beautiful job :)

They are great, indeed! Thanks @jellyfishdonut :-)

Wow! Nice chocolate cupcakes,I like it so much, i really enjoyed it, and made me hungry.

Make some for you and your daughter. I'm sure everyone will love it ;-) Thanks for dropping by @creativewoman :-)

You never ceased to impress me with your lovely food @ikaputri3! A great way to make the kids eat some veggies without them knowing it!
Amazing photography as usual!
@progressivechef

Yes, indeed. It's a good trick to make them eat veggies :-D Your creations are way more beautiful. Anyway, thanks for your kind words @progressive! :-)

Oh my god, there is such a thing as a zucchini night?! :D Why wasn't I invited to it haha. :D

I love that you are a big zucchini fan in terms of savoury but also sweet as me. ;) Lovely photos as always @ikaputri3! :) Resteemed! I'm mesmerized by your piping technique! Really beautiful!

If one day you come to Brussels, we'll do zucchini night together! :-D I found it more beautiful using 2D piping tip rather than 1M to make rosette decoration. Thank you @alinalisa for reading! :-)

That would be a fun night @ikaputri3! :D

I have not that much of experience in terms of frosting cupcakes. But if a start I will try this technique. It is beautiful. :)

It would! Please do let me know if some day you'll visit Brussels ;-)

At the beginning, it will be a little bit complicated but you'll get used to it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52