Beer versus Beer - SwitzerlandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Beer versus Beer - Switzerland

Sort:  

If the store has American beers, there are many excellent craft breweries in the U.S. Some of my favorites are: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Stone IPA, Deschutes Mirror Pond Pale Ale, Lagunitas IPA and Breckenridge Vanilla Porter. Too many good ones around here to list so I'll leave it at that. Would like to hear from you if you check any of those out!

Thanks for the great comment!
I have had Sierra Nevada before, and I drank tons of Lagunitas when I was in California a few years ago. The other are new to me - but not for long, at least for some of them ---->>

Thanks for commenting - I will write a post about some of these soon!!

As promised, a 100% upvote

Cheers

Wow! That was fast! I will be following. Enjoy!

Those both sound fantastic!

If you ever get the chance, I highly recommend Freestate Brewery, located in Lawrence, Kansas. They were the first commercial brewery opened in Kansas after Prohibition (so around 1990) and they make a fantastic range of beers. My personal favorite is their Oatmeal Stout, though their Copperhead Pale Ale and Stormchaser IPA are also excellent. You'll probably get a kick out of their motto, too- "Because without beer, things do not seem to go as well." It's a quote from a beer brewing monk's journal. Freestate is pretty small, though, and will probably be tough to find in Sweden. Kansas City's Boulevard Brewing Company is a Belgian style brewery with a bit farther reach, they're worth a try too.

Thanks for the great comment!

I've just been to my new favourite shop but didn't see anything from the Freestate Brewery or Kansas City's Boulevard.
But all is not lost as I was in a bit of a rush and may just have missed them - will go back and look harder soon

In the meantime, I have at least picked up some more to test over the weekend

Cheers

Freestate is pretty small- I can't even get it in Oregon. Boulevard is bigger, but its reach is still regional. I bet you can prbably special order or recommend beers to the store, though! (Though special ordering might be too much of a hassle.)

Got excited earlier as I thought I had found your beer - but no, it was Firestone. Bought some anyway

The search continues...

As a Belgian I love my craft beers. But a beer needs to have texture and creamyness to it. Thats why I am not a fan of the German and Swiss lagers. Try a nice full Belgian abbeybeer or go for an Australian or American IPA which or sooo much better. Enjoy your drinks!

I grew up drinking English IPA or Guinness and would never have drank lager back then.
But living where I am now I guess times change and I enjoy the lager.

I still enjoy IPA, irrespective of where it comes from, although I don't drink nearly as much of it as I used to.

But you've convinced me to try some Belgian beers as I haven't had many of them. I actually have a box of them in a cupboard that were a present from a Belgian - I think this probably warrants me getting them out and writing a post on them!

Thanks for commenting!

Cheers

As an English you must know your IPA's pretty well! Drank my first IPA at 25 since they are not really known in Belgium. As you say, you drink what is popular where you live. Thats why living in Australia for 2 and a half years made me drink IPA a lot!

Definitely give Belgian beers a try! They will surprise you.. We don't make the best lagers but we do make the best Pilsners, Blond Abbey beers, doubles and triples that you can find! And if you want a creamy wheat beer, we make a damn good one to!

For sure - Adnams was the classic when I was growing up. Good stuff, but definitely better draft in a pub than from a can or bottle.

I used to line in Australia too - on the W Coast. I remember mostly the drive-thru bottle shope, they were awesome

Will check out Belgium soon - I love a good pils, not such a fan of wheat beer mind

Cheers 🍺

Beer, food and life 😊

gave u a vote here and in the beer contest post.

gg

Thanks for that - most generous!!

Done

#cof

Sierra Nevada beer is the shit. .. I was addicted to their Pale Ale... I live in Colorado now and they have tons of craft beers and micro brews here..

Thanks for the comment - am just writing about Sierra Nevada now - will post in a few hours once I have drank it!!

Good timing!

They got alot of winter brews also... plus a few wheat beers. . which I'm not a fan of

Will have to keep an eye out for them! Also not a wheat beer fan.
Here's my post on Sierra Nevada versus Lagunitas
https://steemit.com/beer/@holbein81/beer-vs-beer-the-us-of-a
Cheers

Wow, what a great post for the #BeerSaturday challenge. As you see, we have a big pot this week with SBD and other prizes. Make sure you add you post to the main weekly #BeerSaturday Post and get some upvotes there.

Hi Detlev, I upvoted the #beersaturday post yesterday and added this as my entry - just got to get some votes there now!!

Cheers

Holbein81

perfect.... good job and let's stay in contact.

I'm more of a whiskey girl. But nothing beats a cold one during a brutal Californian heat wave! And lucky for us natives, this is home of the "craft beer!" So only the best! Good post. Now I want a beer! @suicidalviral

I have had quite a bit of your Californian beer - and liked them all!
I can feel another post coming on - thanks for commenting!

If you like beer you should enjoy the beer trivia post I do every day: original artwork with accompanying trivia about a new beer each day. Steem on!

Thanks for commenting - am following you so will keep an eye out for it

Cheers

I don't drink alcoholic drinks, but the bottles look extremely beautiful :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65739.28
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66