You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beer versus Beer - Switzerland

in #beer7 years ago

As a Belgian I love my craft beers. But a beer needs to have texture and creamyness to it. Thats why I am not a fan of the German and Swiss lagers. Try a nice full Belgian abbeybeer or go for an Australian or American IPA which or sooo much better. Enjoy your drinks!

Sort:  

I grew up drinking English IPA or Guinness and would never have drank lager back then.
But living where I am now I guess times change and I enjoy the lager.

I still enjoy IPA, irrespective of where it comes from, although I don't drink nearly as much of it as I used to.

But you've convinced me to try some Belgian beers as I haven't had many of them. I actually have a box of them in a cupboard that were a present from a Belgian - I think this probably warrants me getting them out and writing a post on them!

Thanks for commenting!

Cheers

As an English you must know your IPA's pretty well! Drank my first IPA at 25 since they are not really known in Belgium. As you say, you drink what is popular where you live. Thats why living in Australia for 2 and a half years made me drink IPA a lot!

Definitely give Belgian beers a try! They will surprise you.. We don't make the best lagers but we do make the best Pilsners, Blond Abbey beers, doubles and triples that you can find! And if you want a creamy wheat beer, we make a damn good one to!

For sure - Adnams was the classic when I was growing up. Good stuff, but definitely better draft in a pub than from a can or bottle.

I used to line in Australia too - on the W Coast. I remember mostly the drive-thru bottle shope, they were awesome

Will check out Belgium soon - I love a good pils, not such a fan of wheat beer mind

Cheers 🍺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38