Tipples Beer Review #11 & Beersaturday16 – Bruery Terreux Frucht Cherry

in #beer7 years ago

Bruery.jpg
The amazing colour of this beer, with Melbourne's skyline in the background

The choosing of beer can be a difficult thing. Particularly important milestone beers.

This is the story of one such milestone – my 3000th Unique.

That’s right 3000 different beers tasted, not in my life, who knows what that is, but rather just in the time of Untappd.
What is Untappd? you ask – Well it’s an app (although I remember when it was just a mobile website) that allows you to log every beer you drink, that way you know what you’ve drunk, where and with the rating, comments and picture whether you enjoyed it or not (I sometimes forget things). It launched just on seven years ago, and I was on it within the first six months.

Untappd.jpg
My Untappd homescreen

You also get badges for various things, over the years these have gone from actual achievements to a badge for everything, which I guess is representative of modern society. Anyway I digress. There a milestone beers for the first unique, 25, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2500, 5000 and 10,000.

As you can see there is no 3,000 but as 2500 and 5000 are about 4-5 years of drinking apart, so it’s a milestone to me. It’s taken me close enough to six and a half years to get to 3,000 so it worth celebrating.

Which brings us to the beer itself. I deliberately selected something a bit special – A US beer called Frucht: Cheery from a Brewery called Bruery Terreux which in Calfornia. It’s a Berliner –weiss, which has been aged on cherries in some oak barrels.

It comes in a big champagne bottle which tells me this is a classy and important beer, it pours a lovely copper pink colour, no head and very little carbonation, a tiny little bubbles making a race for the top every now and again.

The flavour is very very tart, it sits in your cheeks between sips that makes you want to slow down to experience this between sips. There are strong cherry flavours and the mouthfeel is quite soft.

All in all this is a pretty darn good beer, very refreshing, perfectly suited to both a sunny afternoon, as well as drinking it at night with so sweet dried fruits like figs or sultanas.

Not the best beer I've had of the 3000, but certainly in the top 500 or so, impressive. now onto 3001

**My Untappd History **
Beer 1 – 8/4/11 James Boags draught – a poor choice but it was someone’s going away and these things happen
Beer 25 - 23/4/11 – Mikkeller Green and Gold – drunk from a growler which was living in my Brother’s New York apartment
Beer 50 - 2/5/11 – Gordon Birsch Marzen – which I think I drunk in a pub in Washington DC as my trip around the US continued.
Beer 100 – 7/6/11 – Grand Ridge Gippsland Gold @ Mrs Parmas – good pub, shit beer
Beer 200 – 17/8/11 – Cavalier Weizen also at Mrs Parmas – again not a good beer.
Beer 500 – 21/4/12 – Women of Beer Ninkasi’s Angel The first time I deliberately celebrated a Milstone beer, I remember it well it was my birthday and I didn’t want to ruin the 500 by having shit beer, so we drunk this a breakfast with fancy fruit toast beard on the balcony of our old apartment in North Melbourne
Beer 1000 – 25/05/13 – Six Strong Chai porter – this is not special for the beer itself but rather that I was at GABS which is Australia biggest and best craft beer festival (and over the 5 years probably responsible for about 450 of my uniques)
Beer 2500 – 21/10/16 – Atsugi Beer Co - Hop Slave Double IPA – Which I drunk in the best beer bar in Yokohama Japan – Trash Zone – it was one hell of a night too.

Bottlecap.jpg
Another bottlecap for the collection

Sort:  

Now, that's a milestone to brag about! 😀 I think I am into fruity brews at the moment, and I would love to try the one that you have reviewed. Lovely shot with Melbourne's skyline by the way!

Looks delicious! Love the color and skyline backdrop.

3000 different beers, that's one hell of a repertoire!

Beer No. 1 - James Boags Draught - The beer of my childhood (teenage years!). Great post.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @harveyword to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51