Testing a Finnish beer: Bryggeri Stout

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Since I still had one beer in the fridge last night, I decided to test it too.

20170728-006-easy-hdr.jpg
"Tumma & Täyteläinen" – "Dark & Mellow"

This one is a Finnish Stout called Bryggeri Stout. The front label says it's dark and full-bodied.

20170728-004-easy-hdr.jpg
The label goes round the bottle to the back.

It is brewed in Helsinki, in a Brewery Restaurant Bryggeri by Rakuuna Olut Oy.

Here's an English quote from the backside label:

"Bryggeri Stout is almost pitch black, dry coffeeish and roasted malty in palate but at the same time light bodied and very drinkable dry stout according to the Irish brewing tradition."

Oh, and the label also makes a mention that the beer has been brewed using an environmentally friendly bio-gas that has been produced from their own mash. For that there is also a reference to the brewers' web page: bryggeri.fi/biokaasu

And then, there's my fresh take on it...

First the bottle. Compared to the previous beer I wrote about, this one has a somewhat traditional, if not outright boring design. A brown long-necked beer bottle style you often see in Finland, this one has a slightly longer neck which stands out from the masses, just.

20170728-007-easy-hdr.jpg
Funny HDR shot of the bottle, glass and cap.

Yes, the colour is very dark, nearing black.

There is not much, if not at all foam.

When smelled, there's a sweet, almost unnoticeable smokish bukée with a slight hint of fruit.

The taste is a strong, almost chocolateish smoke aroma with a hint of coffee that momentarily hits the palate. It also has a very sweet and lingering after-taste with a slight metallic, but a bit dull tone towards the end.

I would probably like this one with a Bulgarian sausage pan, in a harbour on a sunny day. I have a feeling it goes best with hot spicy sausages and grilled veggies.


I'll probably be doing these whenever I find a new beer. Anyway, it was fun to deviate from my regular schedule for a while. I'll be back with some daily photos and Lapland memories soon.

Thanks!


[Previous post: Testing a Russian beer: Hamovniki Irish Stout]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

Nice post for the #BeerSaturday. Thanks cheers and Prost

Yeah lol, I can't remember last time I saw 1 beer in my fridge. Thank you for showing us the way @gamer00 :D

@trendo, @barteksiama, funny, both of you. XD

We have nothing to fear, but running out of beer
This really hurts .. I can feel ya 👍🏻
Maybe I'll need two beer fridges

Looks to strong of a taste for me. I don't care for metallic tastes much. For summer, I go light...Coors light.

Seems like a beer! gotta test sometime.

Looks like you got a lot of them Drink it once a day ;P

I ran out of beer. Don't worry, I always drink responsibly under moderation.

But off I go, need to buy more.

hehe that's good :D

I would like you to taste a nigerian beer, its for real men. Lol

I have no idea where to get a Nigerian beer, European and American beers are kind of overrepresented here. While we do have some Indian, Chinese and Japanese beers I've never seen one from Africa.

You can plan your vacation to come to nigeria.

One question: How safe is Nigeria these days? I recall there being many coups and turf wars in the 90s and early 2000s.

Nigeria is okay all those things you heard is from the news media, and you know that one can not fully trust the news media these days, all the same nigeria is a good country.

Full-bodied it means tasty and powerful

A wonderful experience.

@gamer00 in my country had awesome weather and it's really good of beer drunker !! Just take a 1 beer bottle and enjoyed the rain whether!! But we'll thanks for introducing with us this expensive beer!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61