Beer of the week - Hanscraft Bohemia Crown - BeerSaturday

in #beer5 years ago

After last week's epic 20 cents beer, I could afford to spend a few extra bucks on the next one... Joking. In fact, the reason I came across the crazy beer deal is the latest addition to Hanscraft's lineup, that I was going to pick up at, that very day.

Hanscraft 'Bohemia Crown'


IMG-20200303-154820042



After the first encounter, a few months ago, I ordered this beer at my local store, because it's the first in a while, that really surprised me. None of their newer brews, that I tried, could match the enlightening experience of my first 'Backbone Splitter'.


What's so special?

I'm a big hophead, but most creations that flood the craft beer market are just another pricey IPA with little new to offer. At 2,80 € this one is far from cheap as well.

Technically they call it a double dry hopped pale ale with two czech hops, hence the name. Nothing crazy going on.

  • 16 ° Plato
  • 6,3 % ABV
  • 20 IBU
  • Hops: Kazbek, Sladek
  • Malts: Pilsner, Wiener, wheat, oat



    IMG-20200303-154834248


Can it deliver?

First thing that caught my attention was the head. Seems like the beer is still fermenting which creates a thick, heavy head that delays further investigations. The color is a bit darker than most pale ales, it almost appears to have a black shimmer inside, like the clouds are blockin the sun.



IMG-20200229-174100896



Once my nose found some room inside the glass, there was a maltiness that reminded me of really fresh beers from local breweries, followed by the most intense pineapple flavors I ever experienced in a beer.
After some sips, the pineapple changed into more of a blood orange citrus flavor. Very nice hops, in my opinion.

The official tasting notes also mention a honey flavor, which I can not really figure out.




IMG-20200229-174136495


My rating

Although the second encounter could not recreate the magic of our first meeting, my rating would be a solid 4/5. My initial rating of 4.5/5 is definitely a bit too high.

As this beer is a limited edition, you have to be quick, if you plan on getting your hands on one of these. It is certainly not a bad decision.

73vm47.png

Sort:  

Sounds like an interesting !BEER and looks like a well made post.
Great to have you with the #BeerSaturday challenge

Great looking !BEER and nice post!!
Cheers!!

I like the sound of this !BEER German, Czech, looks like a nice mixing of traditional beer countries and ingredients and new world hop flavours.

Congratulations @exator! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!


Hey @exator, here is a little bit of BEER from @harveyword for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82