BeautifulSunday - initiated by @ace108 - A visit to the Wat Pho temple, Bangkok, Thailand

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the BeautifulSunday challenge, initiated by @ace108

A visit to the Wat Pho temple, Bangkok, Thailand.

1 wat pho45.jpg

The Wat Pho temple, or the temple of the reclined Buddha, is one of the most iconic and beautiful temples in Bangkok.

1 wat pho5.jpg

1 wat pho11.jpg

It's a very popular Buddhist temple, always full of tourists, which is not a surprise, as it's an architectural and art jewel.

1 wat pho25.jpg

It's located near the Grand Palace and the river. The main room walls are richly decorated with gold and paintings.

1 wat pho36.jpg

The Buddha statue is 15m tall and 46m long, and feet are 5m long.

1 wat pho22.jpg

All the photos were taken by me.

1 wat pho49.jpg

I hope you all enjoyed the visit :)

Thanks @ace108 :)
Have a great Sunday, my friends.

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

DQmc75yMiEvNZwe9U2sA7t4ghotVDAWpZp3VsJaRYaJ3fDV (1).png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 23 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks, my dear Pix!

I been to this one. I think I need find time to go back

It's so worth! Thanks for passing by, @ace108!

How far is this to the airport in Bangkok please?? Can be done in a stopover?

It's a bit far I can't tell you for sure, but one thing I remember, you should avoid the rush hour. But it's feasible if you have a long stopover.

Thank you.. is a 6 hours stopover enough perhaps?
Last time i had 6 hours, i was just walking about somewhere around bangkok ;)
The boat's tour needed a bit longer stay ;)

Yes, indeed. In a 6h stopover maybe you can have a tour in a tuk tuk, and choose to have a glimpse of a temple of your choice. I recommend Wat Arung or Wat Pho, they are almost side by side. Avoid the Grand Palace, is always full (and I mean full!) of tourists. And it's so large you wouldn't have the time to see it all. When is your trip! Just let me know after if you made it!

Thank you..am looking for a cheap flight to Asia with a stopover so am flexible on which airline. Bangkok and Seoul are favourites.

Ah, ok, nice choice if Bangkok. About Corea, haven't been there yet, but heard wonderful things about the country!

Oh you must go to Seoul one day, few of my stopovers were there. Bangkok i've just been once.

I will soon, I hope! Next trip will be to Japan, though <3

É tão bonito este templo! Gostei muito! As fotos estão fantásticas! Xi-coração, princesa!

Obrigada, meu amor, milhões de beijinhos!

Beauty of those statue and it's size make me think about those people who created them. I can't imagine how rich fantasy they must have and the master of their art, real beauty

That never ceases to amaze me. How could ancient people make wonders with their bare hands and no technology? Same goes for the architecture. Everything so perfect. Really impressive!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24