The Conowingo Fisherman's Park

in #beautifulsunday5 years ago (edited)

The Conowingo Fisherman's Park is located by the Conowingo Dam on Shures Landing Road in Darlington, Maryland. Darlington is also part of Harford County, Maryland.

os3qjvpc3b.jpg

I took these photos almost a year ago. I thought I lost them when my computer crashed earlier this year but I just recently found them. I'm happy to be able to share them today.

qelvv8dvv6.jpg

I remember our trip out here very well because it was the first time that I saw the addition of this colorful garden and beautiful eagle sculpture.

jkvls7a5rp.jpg

42tza9ndo6.jpg

It was a perfect day and the flowers were gorgeous. I enjoy going out here regardless but it was a delight to see this addition. I sure hope it is still there and being maintained.

e43r5nmt0g.jpg

rkkxr2b9sa.jpg

The garden is right by the Conowingo Dam which is a large hydroelectric dam. You may be able to see in the background that there are a few gates open on the dam. There were more open prior to the day we were there. We had a lot of rain in the days prior which also makes the water look a bit muddy.

hheayhyr8s.jpg

You can tell how high the water was in the next few photos as this area is not normally under water.

fyx2ovic13.jpg

pg258h6m29.jpg

You might need a life ring to get to the life ring...lol!

2ettbv7rpu.jpg

This is also where I got this cool photo of a grasshopper. I used one of the photos of this little guy in a post a while back. I can't believe how close it was to my hand when my son pointed it out to me. Luckily, he (the grasshopper) stayed where he was long enough for me to snap a few photos.

k2b7j2bzkz.jpg

x4o695o0dq.jpg

I didn't remember this nice little deck area either before this trip. I can't say for sure that it was new as my memory isn't really the best but I like to think that I would've remembered it...just saying!😏

ocudxh1uui.jpg

I love the different plaques that were on the deck area. This place is well known for the dam, fishing,the bald eagles and more.

dekmfqllgj.jpg

yqnarsb4r1.jpg

szfsy8pbv8.jpg

Usually, there are a lot of people fishing up closer to the dam but when the water is so high fishing there is not allowed. I did see a family fishing a little further up towards the walking trail though.

ld8igxie1o.jpg

This is also where we normally park because it is closer to the trail but I'll post about that another time as this post is just about Fisherman's Park.

vrem2zyrhk.jpg

I zoomed in on the sign posted on the fence!

z6t9hlx7c5.jpg

They aren't kidding either! I was gonna save this for another post and I will probably still use it again but I wanted to show you a photo I took on a different trip out here of a few of those vultures. Trust me when I say that there were a lot more than what's pictured too!

auwgx4wzqd.jpg

The vultures do tend to stay down towards the trail end of the park. I honestly don't know why that is but that is where I always see them when we come out here. Anyway, I wasn't so sure that I'd get a post up today as it's been "one of those days" but I'm glad I did and now it is almost time for me to go to bed. Night all!! 💤 😴 💤

Thank you @ace108 for #beautifulsunday!!
Thank you @c0ff33a for #sublimesunday!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! 💖

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much @esteemapp!!

That eagle statue is so cute. I love how kind of chubby it is! Flowers are gorgeous and those vultures are crazy! I don’t know if I have ever seen a vulture in the wild!

Thank you so much @dfinney!! I love that statue also and the placement was perfect. I like seeing them there although sometimes it is a little spooky looking. 😱

I'm glad you found these photos again and were able to get these lovely photos posted today! That is a lot of vultures!

Thank you so much Melinda!! I'll be using that photo again and more for an upcoming certain post that falls on Friday's..lol. I'm so happy I found them too. I think everything is still on my computer but just jumbled up in different spots so it has been nice finding them and enjoying the memories and of course sharing them on steemit! 😉

You found a treasure trove then! I'll be waiting to see those big birds again!

WHat a fabulous place and post so much to see there thanks for sharing with us

Thanks for being an Active member of SteemUSA !tip

You are welcome Jay and thank you so much as well!! 🙂

My pleasure 😎👍😎

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: July 28 2019 Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I’m glad you found your photos, Dee. Flowers are awesome and I love the eagle sculpture. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that many vultures together. 😊 💕

Thank you so much Jo!! It was such a nice surprise to find them and be able to share them. Lol..they remind me of Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds". 😱

Yes, that eagle sculpture is quite special.

Thank you so much @ace108!! 💖

you're welcome.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-conowingo-fisherman-s-park


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 181 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you so much @trufflepig!! 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46