Rollover 'McConkey' BASE jump

in #basejumping6 years ago (edited)

Named after Shane McConkey, this is an unpacked BASE jump where you roll over the lines and canopy.

--Video at bottom of post--

You must get a good push away from the object and keep line tension on this jump.

This type of BASE jump can be fatal in a number of different ways if performed incorrectly.

I have seen video footage of jumpers not 'rolling over', instead they have maintained a flat belly position and this has caused their body to be flipped over at line stretch, not only seriously hurting themselves due to the force, but also catching their foot in the lines. Lucky they managed to untangle the lines around the foot so that they were able to land the canopy on their feet instead of their head and breaking their neck.

I have also seen a jumper exit the bridge, but not keep tension on the lines, so once their body had rolled over, the lines were slack, causing a line over malfunction.

If you were not to push off the object, and you were to simply step off, then you would end up wrapped in your canopy, which will likely result in death.

On a brighter note, in my opinion it is not a technical jump, in fact it's a very simple jump, just get it right.

Here are some stills from the video of my first rollover that I did last week in Europe.

Ok so here I am on the ledge, I have my canopy dropped below, which I lowered down gently while letting all the lines out of the tail pocket (even the primary stow). I keep the lines separated left and right by holding on to the lines and risers. My slider is down and gated and just rests on my stomach. You can see I am leaning back a little, that is because the weight of my canopy is trying to pull me over.

roll 1.png

A common mistake is to look at the horizon, DO NOT DO THIS.

The best way is to jump out like a big dive and stay looking at your feet, to ensure you get the rotation. You definitely want to make sure you flip over, or it's going to hurt. I have been high diving for years so for me all I did was jump as if I was doing a front somersault off a 5 metre platform, but just stayed as rigid as possible.

I am also trying to keep my risers apart, but being careful not to get my fingers trapped in the lines

roll 2.png

Finishing the rotation and nearing line stretch, there is a little bit of slack as my arms are not above my head but it was a nice opening, it didn't sting at all. At this point I was looking at my canopy, amazing visuals. As a BASE jumper, seeing your canopy next to you at that level is an interesting feeling, I won't forget it.

roll 3.png

Boom!

Nice on heading opening, no fingers trapped, I just enjoyed the canopy ride. The Sun had gone down by this point so it was a bit of a race to get down so we could do the 20min hike back up before we were left in pitch black.

roll 4.png

This was my first one and it went really well, and I enjoyed seeing my canopy at eye level as I was coming past it :-)

One thing worth mentioning that is important:

I CHOSE NOT TO WEAR A GOPRO CAMERA, THERE HAVE BEEN FATALITIES IN THE PAST CAUSED BY CAMERA/LINE ENTANGLEMENTS, IT IS SIMPLY NOT WORTH IT. I WANTED TO DO THE JUMP AND JUST ENJOY IT, ITS NICE TO HAVE SOME JUMPS IN YOUR MEMORIES ONLY

Here is the video

If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to give it a thumbs up :-)

THIS IS NOT AN INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEO, I AM NOT A BASE JUMPING INSTRUCTOR. IT IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES ONLY. DO NOT GO AND TRY ONE BECAUSE YOU SAW MY POST.

THERE ARE PLENTY OF ADVANCED COURSES ABOUT THAT TEACH THESE, SO IT MIGHT BE AN IDEA TO LOOK INTO ONE OF THESE COURSES BEFORE TRYING ONE FOR THE FIRST TIME.

@curie @steemit @Steemitcentral I love you as always x

#freefall #terminalvelocity #skydiving #basejumper #skydiver #frothing #fullfroth #frother #adventure #life #adrenaline #extremesports #adrenalinesports #gopro #travel #rockon #summereveryday #summer #sliderdown #subterminal #base #basejumping #basejump #europe #gonthrow #321cya #seeya #mcconkey #rollover #sunsetbasejump #fullsend #basehouse #thebasehouse

Sort:  

Really cool action and complete trick and tips @basejumper, interesting and some people who wants to try this should watch and read your post, that's why I featured you in the #payitforward contest this week.. hope thta you still have some more time to have a chatt with others through this post too. please check this out >> Entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest - Week 28

Thanks you keep steemin and jumpin!

Thanks brother!

You are most welcome and I'm glad that you are not busy with that. It just amazing.

Very cool... but that's not for me. I'd rather stay with my feet on the ground. :-P

I've found your post because @dipoabasch featured it in his entry for the Pay it forward Contest

haha it's not for everyone :p

I'm in awe of your bravery :) I'm not crazy about heights, so at best, I can watch the video and cringe the entire time haha

I found your post because @dipoabasch featured you in his Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry :)

I'll let you in on a little secret...I am not a fan of heights either, in fact I really dont like them.
Wearing a parachute makes me feel a lot more at ease as I know I wont die if I was to slip on this bridge

hahaha I somehow missed this comment! That's awesome :)

...but what if the parachute is defective?

kidding!!! :)

Parachutes are rarely defective, and each time you pack them you have an opportunity to inspect them.
The media always says things like "Jumper dies as parachute failed", and most of the time that has proven to be incorrect. A lot of the time if someone dies in a BASE jumping accident it is something stupid they have done, like try a jump that is outside of their capabilities, or they are jumping in poor conditions. Some people have slipped on exit and died, which again is no fault of the parachute ;-)

I was just messin' with you, but you're absolutely right! The media should say, "jumper dies from stupidity" :)

This post has been upvoted for free by @minibot with 0.1%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @minibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Hola @dalipops, Dios!.. el video me dio un vuelco en la barriga, ni loca me lanzo, llegue a tu post, porque @dipoabasch te presento en el concurso "Pay It Forward". está ahora en su semana Nº 28, Es un concurso maravilloso. Estas invitada a participar.

I would die !!! I found your blog through the @pifc and @dipoabasch upvoted offcourse good luck on your journey here!

Not tempted!!!
But I'm glad to hear someone talking about the safety aspects of this sport. Great post.

i found you today because of @dipoabasch's entry to the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work

Thank you, it's a sport that requires as much safety as possible if you want to keep the risk to a minimum

That looks cool, exciting and adventurous! I wish I can try it too. 😃 I jus don't get the "rolling over" part. Or I just didn't notice that much on the video? I thought you just jump and the chute will take care of the rest, no?

Your post was featured in @dipoabasch's article which is an entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. You too can join the contest if you want because it is open for everyone.

I am rolling over the parachute which is underneath me. Usually on a BASE jump the parachute would be packed into the container on your back and then you deploy it after you jump

the parachute would be packed into the container on your back and then you deploy it after you jump

That's what I thought but yours was already spread out before you jumped. Isn't that a little dangerous if you get caught and wrapped up in the chute?

Yes, you have to be careful, you have to roll over instead of step off

I'll keep that in mind if I have the chance to jump. 😊

whooaaaaa.. smooth rollover and landing @basejumper... awesome!!! why can't we look at the horizon before we jump? that do you need to make a warm up before doing that? how do you feel after the jumping?

If you were to look at the horizon then you would enter the freefall position and you would get flipped over real hard, and I mean HARD. By looking at your feet it makes sure you flip over all the way :-)

Oohh I see.. so, just like when you want to jump into the water at the synchronized diving.. and it would be hard 😂 doing the Salto in the air is not an everybody can do but.. a don't do this at home. Thank you for your explanation😊 do you think freestyle or rollover has its own risk for the beginner?

Yes the rollover is not something for a beginner BASE jumper, there is a lot that can go wrong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44