Friday Baseball Prospectus - BA's Hot Sheet

in #baseballcards7 years ago (edited)

This will be a Friday publishing of great minor leaguers to invest in. Information will be drawn from BA's weekly Prospect Hot Sheet.

http://www.baseballamerica.com/minors/prospect-hot-sheet-june-30/#s2lfCvTU5ZtHIR4t.97


Ryan McMahon, 1B/2B, Rockies (22)

McMahon struggled for the first time in his career last season at Double-A but has bounced back in a huge way in 2017. The Rockies promoted him June 1 after he wrecked Eastern League pitchers in his second try at Hartford and now has 15 multi-hit efforts in 26 games at Albuquerque. That included a both a five-hit game and a four-hit game this week, as well as five straight games with an RBI. Overall he has 31 hits in his last 64 at-bats.

Monogrande's Take
I said last week, "Not going to replace the MVP-candidate Nolan Arenado, but he can definitely make some noise with his bat and play in the left field. Cards are rising in value, now might be a good time to jump in."

Well, not being positioned as a 3B will help. This week I say he's going to situate himself one way or another if he keeps swinging his bats this way. BUY IN.


Bobby Bradley, 1B, Indians (21)
Double-A Akron (Eastern)

Bradley has reduced his strikeout rate from 29.7 percent last year to 23.1 percent this year despite moving up a level, and he has done it while keeping his power production intact. He had as many home runs (three) as strikeouts this week, and he remains on pace for his third straight season with at least 27 home runs.

Monogrande's Take
Now this is a boat I caution people from getting on. Power hitters with average or less than average defense only goes to one place - the first base. If he continues to improve on his SO rating, he's gonna be an essential part of the Indians lineup. If he starts striking out again, he's gonna lose all his value. Just look at Blue Jays' Rowdy Tellez.


Will Smith, C, Dodgers (22)
High Class A Rancho Cucamonga (California)

Smith is primarily known as an elite defensive catcher who can handle big velocity and shut down a running game with his arm. The 2016 first-rouner began showing he can win games at the plate, too, this week. He hit three home runs in four days to help Rancho Cucamonga go 4-1 in the five games he played

Monogrande's Take
Stuff is relatively available, and like I always say, always keep defensive wizards high on your list - a lot of the times, they're the ones that shine in the majors.


Bo Bichette, SS, Blue Jays (19)
Low Class A Lansing (Midwest)

Another week, another Hot Sheet appearance for Bichette. This time he strung together five consecutive multi-hit games, finished the week by homering in back-to-back games and brought his average on the season up over .400 before falling a tick below it back to .399 at week’s end.

Monogrande's Take
I'd be remiss if I didn't mention Bo, who's looking like he's gonna be an All-star in the years to come. The downside is that his cards are already pretty pricey. Oh, did I mention he's only 19?


Scott Kingery, 2B, Phillies (23)
Triple-A Lehigh Valley (International)

It was a very good week for Kingery. Not only did he get promoted to Triple-A, but he secured a 20-20 season by hitting three home runs and stealing a base in his first four days at Lehigh Valley. To cap it all off, the 2015 second-rounder was named to the Futures Game.

Monogrande's Take
Talk about raking. This is a guy whose cards have been rising to no end. Take caution investing, however, because as he was not a highly touted prospect coming into the draft, his cards may drop to nothing if his performance dips again.


Chris Shaw, OF, Giants
Triple-A Sacramento (Pacific Coast)

A lot of focus has been on Shaw’s future position, but the truth is he will get to the big leagues whether he plays left field or first base—as long as he continues to hit. He went off at the end of the week, going 7-for-10 with three home runs and seven RBIs in the final two games. He finished his first 30 games at Triple-A with an .843 OPS.

Monogrande's Take
As a Dodgers fan, I hate to give too much credit to a Giants prospect, but he's a prolific hitter. He's gonna be an exciting player to watch hit and might be able to give the Dodgers some problems in the future. Plus, his cards are relatively cheap. BUY.


That's it! I hope you enjoyed this content!

Last week, I was high on Nick Solak and Miguel Andujar. They were absolutely spectacular in his Yankee's debut this week!

Check out my more focused prospectus here: Alex Verdugo, Mickey Moniak, Michael Chavis


Help ME Fund My Collection!

Bitcoin: 1FkMAYucKn2ojLdYcA4uDvh8jZoXxnL8pS

Ethereum: 0xf36Cc36ce2978925df8aCe61F105ddc9952A590A

Litecoin: LWrSb6EkaN78dz4D9pShufpMrLnapW7Lv5

Thank you!

Sort:  

What, no Tim Teebow?

I just saw he got promoted with less than stellar statistics.

It's true that wherever he goes, he draws a crowd. Probably the best cheerleader in all of baseball. :)

I followed you. I love baseball and I wish I would of saw your post on those Yankee prospects because I do daily fantasy and I saw the hot start they had! I hope to start writing some baseball posts soon. I'm reading the book Moneyball and I am finding it so interesting.

Hey, I followed you back, fellow baseball fan! Moneyball is great, and I think analytics does have room in baseball, but until the A's start winning chips I'm gonna stick to guts, haha. So I'm guessing you're a Reds fan?

I'm an Indians fan, but I love following every team. I have the MLB package and watch about as many games as possible typically at the same time. I just got back a few weeks ago from visiting Camden Yards. It was amazing. I was at the Indians game on Wednesday when they beat Texas. I don't know what to expect from them this year as last year was a dream season. I also got to see a game at Tropicana field this year. I saw the Yankees and the Rays. It was great to hear Yankees fans saying how bad the team was because of their performance the very first week of the season.

Ah, right. Indians should've been my first guess, haha. I see the Indians doing well this season as well. They're bringing the youth up slowly, although I hate that they gave up Clint Frazier.

Andrew Miller is just amazing though. He came into the game on Thursday and I told my wife that Texas wouldn't be scoring any more. Of course Andrus hit a home run off of Cody Allen in the 9th. I was glad that the Indians made moves to try and win right now. That was not typical of them in the recent past.

I met Andrew when he was with the Red Sox. He wasn't as dominant as he is now, but his stuff was pretty good back then as well.

I'm high on Brad Zimmer and Bobby Bradley this year. I hope they become impact players in the fall.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by monogrande from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great to see baseball stories here. I thought about writing some, but not sure there is a following to it.

I'm pretty sure there's no following for baseball card collectors, but dammit, I'm starting one. :)

Keep me posted. I am a fan of the old cards myself.

Thanks for sharing all this information!

Of course, it's my pleasure!

Congratulations @monogrande! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81