Baseball Cards, Prospect Watch - Michael Chavis, Red Sox, 3B

in #baseballcards7 years ago (edited)


Michael Chavis was a 2014 1st round draft by the Boston Red Sox after a disasterous 2013 draft which included Trey Ball (bust), Teddy Stankiewics (bust), and Jon Denney (bust). Jon Denny was arrested for a DUI and never recovered as a baseball player. In 2014, the Red Sox did better by drafting Chavis, Michael Kopech, and Josh Ockimey, although Kopech was later suspended for 50 games because he violated the anti-doping policy in MLB. So you get the sense that the Red Sox haven't been great at drafting and developing prospects, right?

Well, they might have turned it around this year. Ockimey and Devers is thriving, and Andrew Benintendi is playing in the majors after being drafted in 2015. But Michael Chavis might be the best prospect in the Red Sox system, and here's why.


Undersized with Power

There are few players in the major leagues that stand under 6' that has the power that Michael Chavis has. He's been launching home runs all over the place in the minors in both Salem and now in Portland. He has the capacity to be a special hitter, and while he's not a hulking presence like Aaron Judge nor a natural talent like Cody Bellinger, he's not far behind in terms of the compact power of his swing. In an organization where Dustin Pedroia thrived, it's safe to say that height is never an issue for player development.


Plus, Plus Defense

I love defensive wizardry, and that's why Nolan Arenado is my favorite baseball player - he might be the best defensive third baseman of all time, as good or better than Brooks Robinson and certainly better than Manny Machado. Michael Chavis is in the same mold. Chavis has a strong cannon of an arm that can throw from third to first in a zip.

A good third baseman also needs free hands. Chavis has great hands to catch the ball, which, coupled with his defensive instincts, will prove be a great asset for him in the future.


As a baseball card collector, nothing makes me happier than to see that I was correcting in investing in a prospect. That's what happened to me with Michael Chavis - I bought up his stuff thinking that one day he will make it. And he did. His cards are shooting upwards of $75 right now, and I expect it to go higher.

Want to join me in my investing? Here's the card you want.


Help ME Fund My Collection!

Bitcoin: 1FkMAYucKn2ojLdYcA4uDvh8jZoXxnL8pS

Ethereum: 0xf36Cc36ce2978925df8aCe61F105ddc9952A590A

Litecoin: LWrSb6EkaN78dz4D9pShufpMrLnapW7Lv5

Thank you!

Sort:  

Awesome another collector!! Been collecting Bowman prospects for a few years now. Love scouting young players, trying to figure out who I think will become the next superstars. Seeing guys I've been watching for a while like Aaron Judge exploding is pretty cool (making some decent profit isn't bad either). Look forward to following more of your posts. Got any big cards in your collection?

Big cards...I sold off a lot of my cards for my wedding last year, so I really dont have much anymore. Some Kersh, some prospects....trynna build up the collection. Love that I kept a lot of my Chavis. What about you?

Are trading cards making a come back? I would love for my basketball cards to increase in value.

Hey! I'd love to appraise your collection for you if you can scan some cards. Sports cards have been on the rise for a while now. I don't know if you ever saw it, but last year Kris Bryant's rookie card 1/1 sold for $15,000.

Is Beckett still a thing? I loved going through the magazine and pricing out cards as a kid.

Beckett does publish prices online, but most collectors now a days go by ebay "last sold" prices.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by monogrande from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57978.54
ETH 2283.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47