I feel like Steemit is my home. Is it?

in #barrycooper8 years ago (edited)

When I entered your block chain home, I failed to properly introduce myself. Some here have misunderstood my content and who I am. Please allow me to correct my mistake so I can be accepted as an asset and valued resident of Steemit.

I learned about Steemit after seeing Jeff Berwick’s post on Facebook. I quickly signed up and slammed together an introduction without realizing the power and seriousness of Steemit. Fortunately, the Introduction did well so I began blogging here instead of Facebook.

So far my followers and commenters have made me feel warm and invited. My critics are harsh but that is expected because I have always been considered a controversial figure. I learn from my critics so I hope they continue to follow me. I promise to always be kind and loving to my fans.

The biggest issue I want to clear up is Steemit generally frowns upon recycled content. I understand why. If this platform is going to be really valuable, there clearly needs to be unique content that cannot be found elsewhere.

I have and will continue providing fresh content but I often publish pieces of my life story. In this sense, I am publishing “recycled” material. My life’s accomplishments and failures have been so bizarre and wildly weird; I receive a monthly check from a movie producer for my life story rights. This means my life is my content.

I am also a former drug cop and drug expert who was made famous for producing videos that teach citizens how to never get busted for non-violent drug offenses. Some of the videos and articles I post are tips I taught years ago but still apply today. This content continues to save lives as it did years ago.

I do promote myself as any good businessman should but not for the sole purpose of tripping my ego. The intention of my content is to promote principles to ease and ultimately end the senseless and cruel suffering of mankind. I am a humanitarian.

Those who know me describe me as extremely kind and sincere in everything I do. I am very passionate and sometimes hyper sensitive so it is not uncommon to see me crying or outwardly exploding my passions.

This trait has promoted and plagued me my entire life. It is a symptom of being an emotionally charged empath who deeply feels the pain of others. On a few occasions, it has almost killed me.

If this platform truly wants unique content, then I know I have found my home.

I can’t think of any better way to share my story than offering you this video of my life:

This is a NeverGetBusted video produced by my best friend, son in law and webmaster, Leandrew Dixon. It contains clips from the hit drug documentary, "How To Make Money Selling Drugs." The video doubles as my life story and a promotion for my Patreon campaign. Please ignore the Patreon references.

Sort:  

"If this platform is going to be really valuable, there clearly needs to be unique content that cannot be found elsewhere."

How about a shoutout to the person who said that to you? :)

you're funny. You said the obvious and you want a shoutout?

Anyways Barry.. good work and I do enjoy the posts I've seen you put up. Nice to have you on board.

He took what I said and copied it verbatim (see above). It's best practice to give some credit to the author when you copy what someone else wrote verbatim.

Wow, your right...he took your unique content word for word.

lol i think he's trolling me : )

He is too busy replying to his own supportive altaccounts to give you any credit. :P

Haha seriously what's with this guy?

Thanks @shadowspub. I'm certain the same phrase has been used by someone before @ntomaino used it.

I told you about best practices on here which prompted this post.

How was I rude to you?

So, you going to troll him everyday like this?

Not trolling, just calling a spade a spade

Hello Steemit fans. In a conversation on another post I made, @ntomaino made the following quote and I used it in this article "If this platform is going to be really valuable, there clearly needs to be unique content that cannot be found elsewhere." If you are interested in this petty matter, read the entire conversation between he and I here: https://steemit.com/dollarvigilante/@barrycooper/jeff-berwick-interviews-barry-cooper-on-anarchast. During my rebuttal, I asked him a sincere question. I did not know the answer because I am new to the platform. Instead of answering in a manner to help me, he gave a smart Aleck answer. I'm not the only person who thought his answer was rude because his comment was flagged. I have been blogging for eleven years and have dealt with thousands of critics. In the article you just read, I stated, "I have always been considered a controversial figure. I learn from my critics so I hope they continue to follow me. I promise to always be kind and loving to my fans." True to my word, I learned and earned from a critic whose intention was to be push me instead of help me. I promised to be kind and loving to my fans. I never promised the same to critics. In fact, I will learn and earn from my critics but I will not be bullied. I admit in this article that I am a very sensitive person so I can discern between who is supportive and who is badgering. Sometimes if a comment is bad enough, I am known to curse at the bully. For instance, in the blog I wrote about the Mexican cartels, A bully continued to flame and accused me of being in the mafia. HIs behavior was harsh enough to deserve a "fuck you." The instance with @ntomaino's flagged comment wasn't near that harsh so I simply ignored him and used his negativity to inspire my audience with this blog. To insure I'm being ethical and as a sign of an olive branch, I am willing to offer my critic a share of the money I made in this article. How much money do you feel like you deserve @ntomaino for not helping me when I asked for it?

I'm not sure what the smart aleck comment from the other thread you're referring to is, but sorry you interpreted it that way (that wasn't my intention).

And while I thought it was a bit disingenous to copy my comment verbatim in this post, I don' think I deserve anything for it. I've enjoyed learning about your story and wish you all the best.

You started the conversation with a warning that did not apply to me. You stated "Recycling content like this will quickly get you off the radar of all whale bots." You implied my recycled content would not do well. In my defense, I explained why my recycled content was an exception and mentioned the post already had 200 votes. I asked if 200 votes was good because I didn't know if this number of votes was a sign of a successful article or not. You replied, "What is and isn't "good" is completely subjective." I waited for you to say something else but you never did. Although your comment is true, if you were being sincere you would have expounded instead of leaving me hanging. Since you knew recycled content could repel whales, than you would know if 200 votes was good or not. Now that I've learned more, I realize 200 is good. By you not recognizing this, I considered it smart aleck so I ignored you. All that said, I respect your willingness to clear things up and to compliment me for the first time. I also respect that you didn't ask for any money. If you did, I would have paid you but I would have lost all my respect for you and ignored you from now on. I'm glad we worked this out and I look forward to our future. Peace and love.

Wow, this is something I have literally never seen before on any social media. Only on steemit have I seen two people who misunderstand each other, work each others differences out and see each other on eye to eye.
Blockchains creates honesty, no false personas, which is why I officially love steemit.

@ntomaino & @barrycooper, you guys are awesome for expressing how you truly feel in each one of your responses. It's easy to feel attacked by someone over the internet and you guys worked it very constructively, Cheers!

Cheers

No worries -- it's easy to misinterpret ones intentions via text.

Let me know if you ever make it to the Bay Area. It would be great to grab a coffee and connect in person.

I commend you both for working this out the way you did. We are all learning and Adam Kokesh's first post on Steemit today talks about this thing we call LIFE! I prefer to read these type conversations. There is a time and place for everything, sometimes a simple "F-You" is appropriate. Those 4 letters are quite powerful.

I neither kindly nor rudely tell a person my boundary, and then if they cross it, they're done. You get one chance, and then I will do what I have to do to get the person away from me so that they don't continue to cross my boundary. I'm not gonna say fuck you the first time, but if a person is not respecting my boundaries, I'll tell them in no unclear terms to back the fuck off.

You are a very think skinned man 🙏

...

Well @barrycooper if you follow me and vote on my posts I will be like that crazy uncle that comes over out of the blue and never leaves.....

May not make you feel at home on Steemit, but it would greatly improve my quality of life....I mean wallet!

Hmmmm. I am glad to vote one of your post if I like the material and I offer you the same premise. If you like what I write, you can show your support by voting. I'll do the same with any article I read on Steem. Thanks for taking your time to comment here.

And I am now stalking you....I mean following, I swear I mean following.....don't shoot!

You are becoming more and more charming as I'm getting to know you. I like the uniqueness of your comments. Thanks.

I remember watching some of your Never Get Busted videos years ago. I thought it was great that you were trying to help people, especially after you had been in law enforcement doing the exact opposite. I wish more law enforcers would make the same decision about leaving the force that you did. However, the things that have happened to you as a result are terrible and I certainly wouldn't wish them on anyone who was willing to reject the ways of the law enforcement community.

Keep fighting for what you believe is right. You have a lot of support, even if you may not always feel it. The drug war is wrong on so many levels and you're doing society a great service by highlighting the evils of it. But don't feel the need to put your life in danger in order to do that. Your life is yours to live, but don't sacrifice it to those who would gladly take it without thinking twice about it.

Be careful out there and good luck to you. I'll keep following you here. I enjoy your posts.

It's always nice to connect with one of my old fans. Thanks for the wonderful care you are showing me. I'm happy to report that I no longer have to work operations that endanger my life. I am very happy and safe living on the beach in Mexico! Big love to you sir.

Awesome! That's good to know. Hopefully I'll be able to make my move to Central America soon enough - albeit under very different circumstances than you. (I work with coffee and cacao farmers.)

Thanks for responding. Keep doing what you do! The Steemit community loves you for it!

"How To Make Money Selling Drugs."

I remember seeing this movie come out and never having had the chance to see it in the small theater near me that was playing it.

Your sincerity alone has compelled me to watch and see what made your life the way it is and how you evolved into your current self.

I agree that non violent drug users should have the right to do whatever they wish with their bodies, but it becomes somewhat tricky how to handle health insurance (to me at least) for someone who willingly partakes in a harmful drug. Should tax dollars go to someone who chooses not to rehab?

Do you think that long term marijuana use can cause paranoia?

"I smoke pot but I don't inhale."

I just about spit out my food haha :)

I like what you are doing and standing up for what you believe in. While I may take a slightly different path than you did, I am glad you are here and feel you have a lot of inside information that the media tries to cover up.

What would you say is the ultimate goal for you? If you were only to pick one of your passions to see to fruition.

By the way, you have some of the coolest hair I have ever seen. Hope to someday come out to anarchapulco to see you and others speak. Is there any way to stream that conference if we cannot make it in person?

I'm happy to read your comment. Sincerely happy. I can feel the kindness. My ultimate goal? To live in a voluntaryism, peaceful anarchy, world so I can make sure every person has food. I believe I will see this in my lifetime. Working on the plan at this moment.

I love that. Would you think offering some of your videos as downloadables to users in exchange for steem dollars would be something you could do? or accept donations that way as well? I'd love to support you directly with the video "How To Make Money Selling Drugs." but would prefer you to get the profit and not get cut out of a deal (I don't know if this is possible with the current structure of your contract).

To live in a voluntaryism, peaceful anarchy, world so I can make sure every person has food.

Well I think you are already in the right place with the right people at the right time to join together and make a difference instead of simply talking about making a difference. Time for us all to back up our beliefs with actions.

The people I want to become wealthy are the people I know will give it away. The more you bless others with what you have, the more blessing that seem to fall on you. That shouldn't be the motive, but I really like the idea of working together for a common goal like yours.

Maybe you could touch on peaceful anarchy (like an anarchy for dummies) because while I think I agree with a lot of the principles, if someone were to ask me where exactly I stand on anarchy, I would not be able to give a very good answer that is founded on a solid base.

If I can be of any help to you, please feel free to message me on steemit chat (bendjmiller222) and although I no longer smoke weed for personal medical reasons, I see the benefits and hope that the push to legalize it continues throughout the USA.

Whether because people think it will benefit medically or the government simply wants to line their pockets with the tax from it, legalization is a great thing with a lot of job opportunities and between alcohol and marijuana, there is no question which one I would pick to stay legal.

Peace and love and never get caught right back at ya @barrycooper

Are you still working for @stellabelle Ben?
:)

You mean by being friends with? Then absolutely! If you put out content like @stellabelle you better believe I would promote you too. But I don't see that. If you prove that you can make great content, I'll upvote it. If I think it's amazing, I'll tell others. I just promoted two poets recently (neither named @stellabelle).

You sound a bit like an @earnest account @feminism haha.

I have no hate for you, but if you spent your time making comments like you do on @barrycooper posts I think your reputation would be a lot higher. But that is your choice. It's hard to respond to you sometimes because I have to unhide you in the section at the bottom, but maybe if you raise your rep a bit it will become easier.

this guy ben is a minion for the not so benevolent whales,
be warned barry

Minion:

Follower or underling of a powerful person

Quite literally I am a follower of about 60 different accounts

Benevolent

Well meaning and kindly

Since it is not well meaning or kindly, I think your statement is fully disproved. But let me take it a step further.

@barrycooper can decide for himself whether or not I am a minion, but should also look into you :)

I'm sure if he talked to @klye or a few other users who have helped your reputation tank he would have a few interesting stories. I won't respond to you again until you can prove yourself to be an asset to the community and have a positive reputation. I won't waste my time on people that cannot conduct themselves respectfully.

:o)
Hugs

I like who you are and have been following you. I had a friend of mine that got coerced into "buying" for his personal doctor, turned out it was a sting. The doctor was used as an informant for his own patients!!! I had never been so disgusted with law enforcement in my life. My friend only ended up with 2 years probation, but what a violation of patient rights. The one person in somebody's life that should be 100% trustworthy used his patients do get out of his own bust. I don't know why it wasn't national news.

http://fox6now.com/2013/07/18/doctor-involved-in-local-cocaine-ring-still-practicing-medicine/

I am very sorry to hear that about your friend. The Drug War is so cruel and unnecessary. Thanks for your continued support.

Welcome home sir

@barrycooper well indeed its ur home

Thanks for opening the door with a smile.

I'm tickled pink you're here @barrycooper
As I think I said before, few men have become instant heroes to me. You are certainly one.

Thanks for the love. Big fist bump to you sir.

would much appreciate your opinion about Karen Hudes
https://steemit.com/news/@matherly/karen-hudes-world-bank-legal-counsil-overseer-mandate-for-the-global-debt-facility
She claims to be working for the good guys trying to replace the banker debt money with debt free notes. Claims vaults in the Philippines and Hawaii hold Yamashita's hoard recaptured at the end of WW2.
I almost want to forget about her but I want to believe her so much....
take a look please. Thanks Barry @barrycooper
much respect.

Can't wait to see that life story movie!

I know. Me too! lol. Thanks for spending your time on my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31