Anya and Dan's Gingerbread House for Christmas 2018

in #baking6 years ago

IMG_4378.JPG

This year my teenage niece Anya and I decided we wanted to make a gingerbread house. We didn't have much experience, I think I'm a somewhat competent baker and recalled making a gingerbread house with my sister when I was young so I knew the basic principles, but we were basically learning as we went. It turned out to be a pretty involved project (it ballooned out to consume several days), but I found it rewarding and had fun collaborating on something creative with my niece (although there were some frustrations along the way).

After consulting some photo references of Victorian-style houses that she liked and with some input from me about what I thought would be feasible, Anya sketched up a pretty cool looking house for use to use as our starting point.

GingerbreadHouseSketchScaled.jpg

Since we knew that this would be a pretty elaborate design we decided to do a trial run with a simple design, in order to practice making the gingerbread and icing (we used this recipe since it was near the top when I searched for “how to make a gingerbread house” -- I think the recipe worked well, it was easy to follow and I like the taste of what we got), practice drawing and constructing templates for parts and cutting the gingerbread to match, and testing out some of our design features to see if they'd work in the bigger project. We got a cute little house out of it:

IMG_4101.JPG

IMG_4107.JPG

With that experience under our belts we felt like we could take a shot at the more ambitious design – we thought there was a pretty good chance we could do it, although we kept in mind that the whole thing might end in disaster to guard against getting our hopes too high in case it didn't work out. Using the sketch as our baseline we started drawing out the full plans on cardstock so we could cut them directly into template pieces. After we had already put together the templates for the front panel and the sides of the tower I realized that the octagonal tower and its roof intersected with the roof of the house-shaped part of the house, and the geometry of that was far more complex than I felt I could visualize so we created a cardboard mockup to figure out those crazy angles (I think I got a brief taste of what a Cthulhu Mythos investigator goes through when they have a “these alien angles are wrong!” experience). Creating the templates took a lot longer than we expected, partly because we were trying to finalize the design and get precise templates drawn as part of the same process.

IMG_4129.JPG

We finished up the templates:

IMG_4175.JPG

And baked them into gingerbread:

IMG_4180.JPG

We made a base out of cardboard and wax paper and started putting the parts together with royal icing.

IMG_4211.JPG

IMG_4215.JPG

We also put in a Christmas tree in the upper tower room. We had originally planned on basic assembly and decorative stuff to happen on different days so we didn't have a fully realized plan for how to make a Christmas tree or a lot of materials to work with. Our first attempt was to try to build one up out of royal icing with green food coloring. I forgot to snap a picture, but it looked sort of like this before we decided we needed a different approach:

Grimer.PNG

Instead we built one up out of big green gumdrops and some of the green icing.

IMG_4218.JPG

The octagonal tower proved to be a bit of a problem – the gingerbread tends to expand a bit while baking and I probably didn't roll all of the sheets thin enough, and those variations relative to the plan mattered most when it came to the tower because it was most dependent on things being spaced properly. At this point in the process I was concerned that trying to trim the gingerbread to get the parts “back on spec” would cause too much breakage (plus the templates didn't all release cleanly from the dough making them hard to work with). Also, I had to make a second batch of icing and we ran low on powdered sugar so I wasn't confident that it would work properly. But regardless of the issues it still came out reasonably well.

IMG_4254.JPG

IMG_4268.JPG

IMG_4270.JPG

Then we decorated it with icing and candy. Here are a bunch of wide shots of the final product:

IMG_4378.JPG

IMG_4383.JPG

IMG_4384.JPG

IMG_4391.JPG

And here's a video I took with my iPhone trying to provide a 360 look at it:

And some close-ups of the various features:

IMG_4380.JPG

IMG_4382.JPG

IMG_4385.JPG

IMG_4390.JPG

IMG_4395.JPG

IMG_4396.JPG

IMG_4397.JPG

IMG_4401.JPG

And I'll close things out with some high-angle shots:

IMG_4405.JPG

IMG_4408.JPG

IMG_4410.JPG

Overall it was a lot of time and effort, but the combination of Christmas spirit and the opportunity to build something cool with my niece made the whole thing feel worthwhile to me. We learned a lot in the process, things definitely would have gone more smoothly if I knew then what I know now (for example, trimming the gingerbread for the octagonal tower probably would have been just fine and made our lives easier). But I think the results are pretty good given that we were basically novices when we started. Merry Christmas!

Sort:  

Well, this is fantastic, but you bring back difficult memories for me. My son had a 5th grade project to make one of these creations and we worked on it for at least and week and it was so so so bad.

I don't remember what grade he got and I certainly did not take photos. Let's just say that I should have been the one getting the grade and it should have been an "F." He couldn't care less by the end of it and I just kept going.

You say:

It turned out to be a pretty involved project

Hahahahaha. Unbelievable amounts of work on things I never thought of before and hope I never have to tackle again. Unlike you, my baking skills are not well developed and that is the least of it.

I wish we would have had you living next door at the time. You could have smelled my apartment from the courtyard like all my neighbors did. Burnt Ginger!

I'm sure your gingerbread house was not that bad!! If it had got a failing grade, you most likely would have remembered that, so let's just assume you got a "less-than-average" grade. :-)

lol - you over estimate me. But I'm sure he passed. As long as they turn something in these days - it's all good!

Star bakers for sure!

Excellent piece of work and MOST christmassy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, what a great and delicious artwork! It is so impressive that you would take the time to make something with such detailed plan only for it to be eaten by people XD.
                   
Well done for making such a handsome house! And grats for the curie vote :).

I want to eat that gingerbread house @danmaruschak 😊 too pretty and delicious. What a bake! Wondering how long the house would stand after the christmas eve😂

It's awesome to see a gingerbread house built from scratch. Loved the sketches and the templates, it was a great start. You guys did an amazing job, the result is beautiful and it looks delicious too!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@ Zoe Anavid#9686). This personal addition to my article can be of great value.

You can check out the previous Author Showcase I wrote to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.

Zoe (@curie curator)

Wonderful and delicious, you did a great job with that gingerbread house, I loved the whole process, a really fascinating job .. A big hug and a Merry Christmas @danmaruschak

I loved how detailed and inviting the sketches are. It is interesting to see all the work that goes into bringing the vision to light. Thank you for enriching my holiday experience.

Looks very well constructed ... and delicious. Also, this is a very detailed and interesting post. Good work!

Has anyone started nibbling on the gingerbread? I know I would not be able to resist it. :-)

That was one thing I planned for, there was some gingerbread set aside for eating rather than construction (You can see in the baked gingerbread photo that the windows weren’t fully punched out until after baking, because that helped maintain the structure of the shapes and also so there would be some little tombstone-shaped cookies at the end. Plus I made some cookies with the leftover bits of dough after we were done cutting the templates. Originally they were going to be gingerbread men but I was tired enough my that point that I only did one and the rest were hand-smushed circle shapes.).

this is so cool. that is ambitious with the tower! Really fun project to do with your niece, I hope you two turn this into a tradition and attempt even more elaborate constructions in years to come :) Merry Christmas!

Very cool! Nicely done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70