Steemit: My Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

in #backtosteemit5 years ago (edited)

Where to start is what I really do not know. Is it from how I discovered Steemit late in 2017 but never got to explore it until close to a year later or how I...... Okay.. Let's get the real gist.

images (12).jpeg

For a very long time, I've always searched for a sidekick that would give passive income even while in school.

During my service year in the Northern part of Nigeria between 2016 and 2017, I searched the nooks and cranny of the Internet for a remote job but all hit dead ends.

Of course, I saw some freelance jobs in writing, copyright, graphics design and all but for one reason or the other I never pursued although one of the reasons was cos I realised most gigs and writing jobs were so tilted towards tech and even though I was beginning to love tech, I didn't think I was ready to give so much at that point.

Just after I had given up, I spoke with a friend who loves his privacy and wouldn't want me to mention his name and he introduced me to steemit.

I didn't so much believe in it at first cos it felt too real to be true. The only reason why I doubted my own reservation was due to the integrity of the person who introduced it to me. Trust me, if it was introduced to me by someone else, I probably would have missed out from this great project. My "friend", thank you so much, even though I'd have loved to mention your name 😉 😁.

Despite signing up in August 2017, I didn't start writing until early 2018, between February and March. "My friend" told me, "I want you to write at least two posts daily, morning and night for one week and if possible, three, to include afternoon.

I followed the routine for a week or two or more, can't remember precisely and guess what, I had amassed few hundreds of SBDs. Of course at that period, SBD was around $5 or so... Ignorant me I was still very oblivious of how the market functions, you'd see.

"My friend" advised me to cash out then about 150 SBD. Lol.. He would always advise cos he didn't want it to look like he was dictating how I ran my thing but I appreciated it and didn't take it like he thought.

150 SBD was around N200K then and my bank account smiled that period. Another thing that melted my heart again, when "my friend" offered to help me exchange my SBD into fiat, I didn't know anything about the markets and how I could exchange, so I was glad he wanted to help.

Unfortunately, he was unable to exchange immediately. So when he eventually exchanged, I think the price had gone "a bit down", but guess what? he added from his own personal money to make it up to what it would have been. I was so emosh.

IMG_20190328_234042_161.jpg
The transfer of N200K 😉 😝(my first earnings in less than a month) from "My Friend" after he helped with the exchange.

Trust me, there are good people out there and to "My friend" again, even though I've thanked you before and you don't like people thanking you this much, I still say a very BIG THANK YOU MY FRIEND..

WHEN I FELT IT

So, after my first couple of payouts, I was a big boy, I had earned close to 400K in two months or less. Like "my friend" would say "I earned the salary of someone working in KPMG or any of the big four firms"... Lol... In less than two months in the real sense.

At that time, I think the price of SBD was still around $5... 😂... But the ignorant me didn't know that at that price it was a good time to cash out so, I kept my SBD and had not even learnt about "powering down" my SP then.

On SteemXchange, they exchanged 1SBD for N1500 but I felt it was too small and wanted to wait for it to go up a little bit 😂... Don't call be greedy cos I am not. Was only thinking I could get the best out of it. Then it happened...

SBD fell to $1 or below $1 and I just saw my over N200K worth of SBD worth around less than N100K... Omo Mehn I weak 😂.. If na rough play, make steemit stop am... I couldn't believe it...

I still hoped and hoped that it would rise, but... Pheeeeeew.. It was like waiting for the Ocean to dry. At that time, my younger sister was getting married in about a couple of months and although I was working, I was earning an average of about N56K monthly. You can imagine when I had thought that I could contribute like N200K to my sister's wedding, that plan was foiled. I ended up cashing out less than N100K. Since then it's been a battle for SBD to rise. I hope it does soon.

IMG_20190328_234207_849.jpg
My account balance after my second earning from steemit 😉 which I exchanged myself on SteemXchange.

ME & STEEMIT

While I have learnt how the market functions, I have also learnt to believe that Steemit has a future beyond what it is today.

I've tried to look beyond the immediate gains Steemit would bring and believe in the long term project. This for me is the best time to show your believe in this project. Its the best time for you to help establish yourself on steemit.

I write normally and own a blog but steemit has helped me get rewarded while writing what I love, sports and in particular, football. Hitherto I used to write poems and stories on steemit before finally carving a niche for myself in football. Of course I don't see myself has "already there", that's why I keep writing, even when the prices are down. And, big thanks to "my friend" once again for his Pep talks and one in a while yabbing, they've kept me going even in these bad times.

Of course I'd sometimes deviate and write out of football if I get something that catches my fancy... So, keep writing.. Just keep writing...

I just hope those who left would come back and look at steemit beyond just making fast money but about getting rewarded for what you love. At least other social media platforms we use do not offer us any reward in return even after spending so much in data and time but here steemit is doing a whole lot.

Let's keep the believe. Steemit is the future.

Thanks for taking time to read.

#backtosteemit
#iamasteemian
#nigeria

Sort:  

Chronicles. Good old times.
If seasons are of any indication, we might have those times back.
Welcome!

Sure. 👍... Strongly hope so. Nonetheless whether or not, Steemit for the future.

Congratulations @reservedsingle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 750 posts. Your next target is to reach 800 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64