Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Ah wow thanks a lot @c-squared! I've voted you as a witness and will be in contact about the contest bit as I'm co-organising @phctop3 with @cheese4ead, @plantstoplanks and @foxyspirit 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

hi @nickyhavey
we are hardened travelers and posts like these only increase our desire to travel !! we also like walking a lot and these coastal paths that have the blue of the sea on one side and the green of the forest on the other reach the fullness of beauty. wherever you look it is wonder. your photos are amazing !!
congratulations and thanks for sharing with us

Hey @road2horizon! Legends! Thanks for checking out the post!

Yes travelling these last 2 months has been the best decision I made for sure. I visited places I never thought I'd see, learnt loads about cultures and the scenery on this part of the trip is amazing. If you haven't been on the Great Ocean Walk before, I'd highly recommend it. I still have a few more days to write about, ending up at the magical 12 Apostles!

Are you guys on the road now or you're looking for your next adventure?

Posted using Partiko Android

oh yes dear friend, traveling lights up the eyes and oxygenates the mind! Meeting other people and other ways of living makes us lose a little of our human egocentrism that we learn in our society. Besides, of course, to show us beautiful places !! no, we've never been there, it's a bit expensive for us and we have to save a little before we go, but sooner or later we'll do it !!
Now we are in Portugal (see project www.workaway.info) in a vineyard learning the secrets of making good wine !! :-))
did you take two months off work and then come back?

You're absolutely right and learning about the cultures and history of the places you're visiting really gives some perspective.

It is expensive in Australia, you do need a strong budget or find work out here to help subsidise your travels. Cheapest way of getting around is a camper van and campsites but I'm not that into camping myself.

Ah awesome, enjoy Portugal and the wine! I've heard good things about the Algarve region for scenery as well if you haven't been already.

I'm still out here in Australia but I was only doing temp work at a company as I had already planned my travels but quite enjoyed working there and may have a more permanent job when I'm back. Fingers crossed! I've been in contact with them and they said they are working on a role for me for when I get back.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nickyhavey
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=haveysaustralianewzealandadventurepart5greatoceanwalkshelleybeachtoparkerhill-9t78j1cnok


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Awesome to hear @steemitworldmap! That Great Ocean coastline will be lined up in no time with my posts 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

This was so beautiful ... the photograph with the mountain ash and ferns was the most breathtaking of all, but overall, the photos you chose and the way you write gave me the sense of adventuring right along with you-- well done!

Hey @deeanndmathews! Thanks for stopping by and checking out the blog, I'm really glad you enjoyed coming along the adventure with me here. It was quite an eventful day that day!

Have you been to this part of the world before?

Posted using Partiko Android

20k dude. I thought you were slowing down a bit! It all sounds amazing.

And you have recruited a new follower and possibly a new crypto convert! Job done.

Gaz

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha what, 20k is slowing down right? 😂

I'll slow down when I get back to the UK, only a couple of weeks left now so may as well max it out (although it does feel like I have slowed down vs NZ)!

Got to spread the crypto word mate! People are interested I think but need an easy to use guide... I'll look in to creating a beginner's handbook for steem to help people come on board to the platform

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely! Onboarding people for Actifit has highlighted this very thing. It's just to damn complicated for joe public. People aren't going to jump through hoops unless it's easy and they have nothing to lose or it takes off and FOMO kicks in again.

Even a step by step guide at this stage has too many steps haha! Agree on that, FOMO or nothing to lose will get people involved but will they stay? You kinda want people to join for the right reasons and then get them in to a community where they feel they belong asap otherwise they get put off

Posted using Partiko Android

I 100% agree. What usually happens after a spike? A nosedive!

January last year was all the FOMO's getting the hell outta dodge!

Slow and steady wins the race. Be it industry progress, public opinion, value etc

They'll come round don't you worry. We may be dolphins by then! That could be the next Only Fools And Horses saying instead of "this time next year Rodney, we'll be millionaires"!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol. My dad quotes me that everytime I talk about the @phctop3

Love OFAH 😁

Ahaha! Keep the faith mate! At least you can have that conversation with your dad about steem and top 3. My family look at me like a weirdo as soon as I mention crypto

Posted using Partiko Android

That lighthouse looks so filmy kinda - I mean movie kind of thing. Amazing time you had here. Those patterns that rain made on rocks- I cannot agree it is done by rain, is it? I am surprised and related it to dinosaur times rain then :P:P

Amazing share buddy and congrats on your curie vote :):) well deserved :)

Hey @vibesforlife! Thanks a lot for stopping by and having a read! Yea I was surprised by the rock patterns and how they are formed too but it does make sense seeing as the land in these parts is pretty much untouched for thousands of years so that corrosion has been slowly occurring over time.

Unless it rains bullets of course lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

haha yea unless its rain bullet :P:P

Lands untouched for thousand of years, sounds mysterious and interesting at the same time.

It's pretty untouched in these parts. If you get a chance for your next trip, well worth visiting! When I finish this particular section of my blog series and get to the main attraction, you'll definitely want to come here (hint, it's more amazing rock formations) 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

hehehe i am looking forward to it. let me check if it is up yet.

Long time no speak! I've been following your Australian posts or maybe I should say that I was rather checking your photos than really following your trip :) Are you still there?

20 km is a long walk considering that you walked a lot in sand (I assume). 400 steps doesn't sound easy either :) I can imagine that it wasn't very easy to get out of the bed the next day :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good day, Nicky!

Hey @delishtreats! I've missed you my friend, I hope everything is OK with you? I remember you saying you had some hip problems a few months back on a hike?

I'm still out here for another couple of weeks but got lots lined up so these big blogs may go quiet again, may just be the micro blogs to keep things ticking along!

Most of the walk was on the coastal path so only 1km was probably on the sand for this particular section of the Great Ocean Walk.

It is never easy getting out of bed but there's a world to explore so that's motivation enough 🙂

Catch you soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

A friend of mind was planning a similar route for his next hiking! Maybe he should take a look at your post :)

Absolutely send him this way! I have a few more blogs where this came from that I'll try to post over the next few weeks. Will be mostly micro blogs for the time being as things ramp up a little bit on the travelling front. Hope this gives some good pointers though!

Thanks for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

One of the best thing for a travel freak in steemit is that he could make a virtual trip to many places through travel blogs like this. Because I know there is literally no chance than one day I could be able walk the same path the you had in this post, even if I may visit this country. So on a personal note, this travel post and similar ones have relatively higher in its value.

20 km hiking through forest is good enough to complete in a day, btw was it a solo trip, must not be as it is dangerous to walk alone. (No group photos). Is that stuff with perforations is really rock? Acid rain and only affected in few rock pieces... Chances are less? Think so...

Pictures are worth to have a detailed look for. That old clock house really looks lonely and old without having anyone's attention..like a ghost house:.
The photo I liked is the one with tallest trees, the light or sky behind it shows how tall it is.

And finally, I too makes some travel and I happy to let you know that my post too featured at #20 of the travel Digest #537 by @steemitworldmap.
Appreciate if you can have a look if free...
Have a good day

Never say never my friend. There will still be a path and people will still be able to walk through it but the scenery changes with each day due to weather, coastal erosion etc. I hope you get to see it!

I walked with a group of people on a walking tour so it was a bit safer but there are still hazards along some of the way with wildlife but you just need to make some noise so the animals know you're coming and they'll run away 🙂

Yes that really is a rock and it was surprisingly smooth in those little dimples/pits. Basically, when it rains, the water forms together to form droplets on the surface and stays there for a long time. As it is slightly acidic, it corrodes the rock and over thousands of years it creates these little pits. Pretty cool! It's only because these particular rocks are exposed at the bottom of the river, they are out in the open so catch all the rainfall.

Yes that light station was a pretty lonely place and I do have more information about it as we did walk past it on the hike as well.

Congratulations on the feature of steemitworldmap too! I'll have a read through your blog.

Thanks for stopping by mine 🙂 take it easy my friend

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to read this which really looks like an additional note to your original blog. Few photos are self explanatory to get the feel of what you written like the lighthouse, The title of Ghost Light house may perfectly suitable for it. it seems

For those acidic rain and rock, I was wondering how many years it might had taken to get into this shape. If so you might be walked through another civilization: hehe

Anyhow nice to meet you here, Have a good day

Nice trip, stone with that marks is so amazing looks like some ancient rock.

Nice trip, stone with that
Marks is so amazing looks
Like some ancient rock.

                 - anaerwu


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I wouldn't be surprised if those rocks have been there for many thousands of years with the amount of time it must have taken for the rain to create this pattern. Amazing stuff really!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56