Carla: Infinite loop of audio plugins

in #audio6 years ago (edited)

Carla is an audio plugin host that recently got a new feature added, a feature that really made my day (and blew my mind). Here is my story, along with some general Carla info.
carrrla.png

Creator of Carla

KXStudio is the creator of Carla, a bunch of other applications, plugins and even maintain various other software. They also make a Linux distribution and provide repositories for you to use in your own Linux install. In short, working with audio on Linux is a lot easier thanks to the work of KXStudio. Carla and some of the other software/plugins are cross-platform and available on Mac and Windows as well.

Usage of Carla

A plugin host allows you to run audio plugins without using a full featured DAW. I guess that this would be useful if you, for example, work with live audio and want to process sounds / play software synthesizers through plugins. I'm guessing as this is not something I use myself...
Carla can load a wide range of plugin formats (VST, LV2, DSSI etc) and, on Linux, can even be used to load plugins created for Windows. Unsure how well this works as this is not something I use myself. There are more features, such as the patchbay, but I'll stop here.

carla.png

Carla also comes as a plugin, meaning you can add Carla to any audio software that supports plugins. This is where it starts to get useful for me! The DAW I use supports VST and LADSAP plugins, but not LV2. Some really nice plugins, such as Guitarix and Calf, are only available as LV2. Thanks to Carla I can make use of them by adding Carla to a track and then the plugins I want to Carla!

Getting to the point

I have been doing some early music sketches for HiW
, but I found myself disappointed with not having any suitable drum-machine. I was thinking something along the lines of Propellerhead Software's Rebirth. After searching the Internets far and wide I found a real beauty, Hydrogen! The joy fell short... it is a standalone application and there was no way to sync or make the DAW and Hydrogen interact. Another session of searching for solutions later... I stumble upon that new Carla feature I've been meaning to talk about.

Rebirth_rb-338_screenshot.png

Rebirth
hydrogen.png
Hydrogen

The new feature

They added the ability to also add standalone applications into Carla. I quickly got the latest version, fired up my DAW and added Carla to a track. Opened Carla and tested adding Hydrogen... lo and behold, It worked! I can play the keyboard and Hydrogen responds, I record in the DAW and it writes to the DAW track and plays back just like with any other synthesizer plugin. Closing the project, opening it again and everything just works as I left it, with Hydrogen automatically launched and everything. I found it to be mind blowing. The perfect solution to my problem.

waveformandcarla.png

The take away

If you work with audio, having Carla around can't be a bad idea.

Images
carla.png from http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Applications:Carla
Rebirth_rb-338_screenshot.png from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ReBirth_RB-338
hydrogen.png from http://hydrogen-music.org/screenshots/

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

Congratulations @smjn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The things that occur when you sleep... Thanks!

Hi @smjn!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.677 which ranks you at #31569 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 119 places in the last three days (old rank 31688).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 361 contributions, your post is ranked at #249.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43