Reviving the Yellow Ghost

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0859.jpg

I wanted to retake this character and go back to work on this photographic series after so long ignoring it, the yellow ghost emerges from a day of adventure that will leave you the link of history around here when the post is published.

Is there a ghost in Avila?

I went over time making several photos of the ghost but the result I never liked, I did not find this character sense, I did not find his true purpose, I could not give him a coherent story and I still could not answer the most important question Who is the ghost?

Meanwhile, I thought, "Why not go back to the beginning? With that to be able to understand a little this poor ghost, everything started with a trip to Ávila so why not go back to Ávila? I was organizing with several friends to go to the mountain again, among so many possible places we all came to the conclusion that we wanted to return to the Phantom Cable Car or also called as El Irón (name of the station) where it was a funicular system that went from the Hotel Humbolt to La Guaira (Macuto) in Venezuela conformed by four stations called Ávila, El Irón, Loma de Caballo and El Cojo. It began to work in April 1956 under the presidency Marco Pérez Jiménez, after the fall of this same president in 1958 the facilities were deteriorating due to lack of care causing a tragedy shortly after, by the mid-1970s there is the closure of this fault system for electrical equipment, with the hope that it could be reopened. For a short period between 1986 and 1988, its doors were opened during the presidency of Jaime Lusinchi, after that the cable car has remained unserviceable and abandoned today.

According to the legend it is said that it is called Phantom Cable Car because a resident of the San José Galipán area notices something strange on the mountain, near the Loma de Caballo station a cabin appeared from nowhere hanging on one of the steel cables main as if it had a life of its own and would try to complete its way to the next El Cojo station, currently the cabin is still jammed and stenciled by the main steel cable.

It's the endless times I've gone to that cable car but I had never dared to go with the yellow ghost, when I got there I started to work and little by little I discovered more of this character, I was already finding meaning and I came to the conclusion that the yellow ghost is a character born of Ávila, it was his world, forgotten in time as the cable car between fauna and flora, was a being that you could only find on the mountain, for me the ghost will be like a representation or the power to shape the spirit of Ávila and to capture the different places it is made up of.

I had already managed to answer my questions and give the perfect meaning I wanted to this character, then then I will leave you one of the many photos I took that day. These are my favorites so far, I look forward to returning to Ávila with this ghost to continue telling his story.

DSC_0812.jpg



DSC_0817.jpg

For anyone it is a mystery that I love the abandoned places and that I will gradually upload post talking about them and my experiences but this post was inspired thanks to @customnature to leave my participation in Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №.15, I invite you to participate since the theme of this week is totally free and ends this Sunday. I also invite you to see the #aswcontest because if you love abandoned places like me here you can find many post from different places in the world, I recommend a block.


Camera: Nikon D3000
Lens: AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm f / 3.5-5.6G
ISO 200 | 18-24 mm | f / 3.5-4.0 | 1 / 160-2000sec
Location: San José Galipán, Venezuela
Edition: Lightroom

Those who read me welcome my words and we can know more in the next post. Thank you so much!
logo aless.png
Photo of my authorship
Instagram ǀ Facebook ǀ Twitter

Versión en Español

Sort:  

Absolutely beautiful shots ! Abandoned stuff just looks so cool!! Good luck in the contest!

Many thanks! I'm happy to know that you like my photos, I love abandoned places and I can not avoid taking pictures but of course giving my personal touch. Greetings and a big hug for you thanks for watching my post :D

Great photos. UP4YOU :)

Thank you very much! regards

I missed the abandoned shit contest this week even if it was free themed.. but I was out... the shots are haunting... the character reminded me a bit of Georgie from IT, but the place the pictures, everything is haunting. Congratulations. I think you might win the challenge.

What a shame that you missed the contest :( but anonymous we will wait for what is the new theme this week, I have been told lately that it seems or it makes you remember the IT character but I think that this ghost is more friendly than the hahaha. thank you for your comment and well I have faith to win the challenge but you have to wait for the post to announce the winner because there are several good posts, anyway I am very proud to have made this post. Happy day for you and a strong hug.

I wish you success in the contest ;)

Thank you very much for watching my post I wish you the same success for you in the contest: D

Excelente las fotografías.

Muchas gracias, feliz noche para ti :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05