Taking a Photo of the Moon Takes a Lot of Practice and Patience

in #astronomy6 years ago (edited)

Last night, I wanted to watch the moon rise so I asked John to come with me to the Hummock Hill, but unfortunately it was really windy and cold. We decided it would be best to go home.

Even though it would no longer be a Supermoon (I missed it on Wednesday night because I was with my Connect Group) and the moon phase is waning gibbous (still looks like a full moon though), I still wanted to take a photo of the glorious heavenly body. I was hoping it would still be bright and big like the other night.

For about an hour I tried taking a photo of the moon. It was hard. By the time I was ready to click the camera, the moon was not in the center of the scope. The brightness of the moon was almost blinding but I just kept on trying to get a perfect shot.

20190222_165233.png

Camera: Samsung Galaxy S4
Telescope: National Geographic 76/700
Date: 21 February 2019
Time: 11:05 PM

Please leave a reply for any feedback or comment and thank you for reading! Blessings to you all!!!

rsz_transparent.png

Acknowledgment to @surpassinggoogle for his @ulogs initiative. Thank you!

My recommended witnesses:

@c0ff33a, @enginewitty, @pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @good-karma, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

@steembulls
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

@dynamicgreentk, @dynamicsteemians
rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

@flaminghelpers
itestify1.jpg
@itestify

The photos are my own unless otherwise stated. The discord banners are provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls, #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

That is absolutely amazing, you can even see craters and lines on the moon surface! I have never had the opportunity to use a telescope before, and had no idea you could see so much detail with one! And well done for preserving trying to get a clear photograph - it was definitely worth it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Yes, absolutely magnificent. It was definitely worth all the strains in my neck and my shoulder trying to adjust the position just to get a clearer picture of the moon.

I am thankful to my husband because he bought me this telescope last year as his anniversary gift for me. He knew how much I loved the moon and the stars. I would love to see a planet too but I am a newbie and so still learning. The moon is of course easier to spot.

So my husband buying the telescope for me is like him literally giving me the stars and the moon. I am very blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful shot! Your practice is going awesome all the best.. I also take pictures with just my Smartphone!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35