Baudelaires!

in #asoue5 years ago

Siblings1.png

I forget sometimes how much A Series of Unfortunate Events definitely shaped me as a youth. Certainly the narrative themes of relativistic morals, dire and harrowing trials, and strong suspicion of authority figures really stuck with me. But this was the first book series where I was so intrigued by the illustrator, Brett Helquist's, style that I used it as reference for how I approach a lot of details to this day, namely hands, fabric drape, and overall face shape.

SiblingsKlaus.png

I have been told --by a college art professor-- that Japanese manga and anime is an "obvious" influence on my work. And that is partly true. But it's not where I started. It's not the core. It's more Helquist and Avatar the Last Airbender (A:tLA, of course, itself being influenced by Japanese animation). I like a touch of morbidity and despondence with my clean, smooth lines.

SiblingsViolet.png

I more often draw people frowning and squinting than laughing and smiling. I like my eyebrows crunched up with thought and assessment, not unfurrowed with passivity.

I am glad the Series made it onto Netflix, and that they fixed a few of the cringey bits from the books (such as making the henchperson of indeterminate gender more of an actual person and not a spectacle). It was lovely to watch a live action version of my favorite books from my childhood. It's also been fascinating how many people are more vocally fans now; I remember not having anyone to talk to about ASOUE because everyone was caught up in Harry Potter. I ended up also reading Harry Potter, but it's not the same.

Oh! Fun fact: my mom would help me make my Halloween costumes, and one year I was Violet Baudelaire and NO ONE KNEW WHO I WAS but BOY HOWDY THERE WERE LOADS OF GRYFFINDOR KIDS WITH LIGHTNING BOLT SCARS AND ROUND GLASSES. Last I checked, that Violet dress was hanging in my old bedroom closet. It could be very fun to make a new version to go with the Netflix series (especially the purple dress Violet wears in The Penultimate Peril).

Sort:  

Congratulations @ellgrimm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81