AskSteem: If you were to receive a massive delegation to aid the growth of Steem, what would you do?

in #asksteem6 years ago

Yo!
Say a user were to give you a big delegation or follow your votes with a lot of voting power for 6 months. What would you do? How would you plan things out, what problem would you attack, how would you distribute the daily voting power, etc.

PS. This is a hypothetical question. :P Just want to know people's thoughts on what they think would be the best move forward from here according to them.

PPS. Aiding with the growth would either mean growing the amount of users, dapps, projects, devs, price, etc.


Sort:  

I would make sure I make a plan:

  • I would want to support some projects/dApps that don't rely on delegations from the community, but are trying to build a business by either bringing in FIAT and/or power up all earnings on the platform.
  • Depending on how big the delegation is I would give one post a day a chance at going trending with a 100% upvote that is not coming from a usual suspect - to give them as an individual blogger 'eyes' on the frontpage, or an awesome project a kickstart that is not yet known by many.
  • Then I would try to make some Minnows: find a group of starting content makers that might lose hope after seeing no growth on their account, make sure they get some regular support (and explain that they can't rely on that forever, that they have to see it as a 'kickstart' and explain to them why powering up is the best thing to do for the long-term) with for example

Point 1: 30%
Point 2: 10%
Point 3: 30%

The other 30% I would probably 'enjoy' for my regular curation of all the cool Steemians I've learned to love over my Steem career, so they can enjoy my luck with me and are not suddenly left out just because I got that delegation. Money/value is often changing behaviour anyway, and if I got a huge delegation following my votes I would definitely behave differently, but would want to keep a part of my original behaviour in tact as well.

Great question, nice to fantasize this for a bit :-)

I would ''hire'' talented devs to create more awesome games on the Steem blockchain, meaning I would use the SP to provide a few geniuses with a satisfactory income so that they would keep working 24/7 to deliver the best possible outcome.

Then I would create a facebook page with the aim of spreading the word about the Steem-based games, and I would probably use 2 - 4 % of the account's VP per week in order to pay for promotion services on Facebook.

Add some extra funds to that, and I could also make deals with Youtubers, paying them to promote the Steem-based games in Youtube videos.

Just thoughts.

I'd set up a bot that followed trusted curators. Every time it hit 100% voting power, it would select a random active post one of them had curated and drop a 100% vote on it. It would boost the curation rewards of those trusted curators, as well as increasing their impact on distribution.

Do you already have (or know of) a bot that does this? Because this is rather an interesting idea.

Let's go hog wild and say @ned dropped 1 million SP on me for six months and began upvoting my posts at 100% for the same period.

I know, crazy talk, right?

But stay with me, this is only make-believe...

I feel, before we start thinking about bringing new people onto Steemit, we need to shore up content creators who are already here now.

If it weren't for @tribesteemup @earthtribe @steembasicincome @busy.pay and @actifit I would have almost no support for my posts. The curation trails and delegation I send out helps to keep me posting without feeling like it's all for nought.

I still remember the large upvote I got on a comment in the summer of 2017 when nobody was seeing my work. Just as I was getting discouraged seeing a pic of a ham sandwich being upvoted to the trending page while my posts langushed, the sky parted, and a kind Whale gave a refreshing, significant upvote.

Just in the nick of time.

So, I would focus on a twin strategy of "stopping the bleeding" along with initiatives like what @nathanmars is doing to both retain good content creators, with growth from outside of Steemit.

Combine that with delegation to grow my stake, so I could be self-sufficient once the six months are done. Kind of like if a wealthy person gave a homeless guy $100,000. Instead of spending it on hookers and blow, he wisely invests the funds for future growth while also paying it forward with the dividends.

Dapps like Actifit, Partiko, Steemmonsters and the brand-new DrugWars also provide a "stickiness" and a fun factor that helps keep people around. That's why I have no problem supporting them with my delegation as I can see the utility they provide for Steemit.

It's like renting vs owning. Would you spend money fixing up a place you didn't own? When users have a stake and feel invested, they are more willing to increase their shares which in turn helps support the price of STEEM.

So yes, going outside our platform is all fine and good, but we've got to help retain the good people that are still posting. It makes no sense to pour gasoline into a leaking fuel tank. We need to patch that sucker up first!

Hypothetically speaking, :)

as I am a curator for @steemgc and @vimm, I would follow what I'm curating with my vote.

That way, I could help the platform (@vimm) and the community (@steemgc) and also give a boost to a post I'm curating and help people grow.

I believe that the gaming community needs more recognition on Steem blockchain. But mostly why I would curate this community is because I see a BIG potential where we could onboard massive numbers of gamers/streamers.

That's why I think we need to have something to offer before they start coming.

Peace yo!

Other than that, I would try to support (if I'm left with enough VP) some projects that are helping minnows, like @welcomewagon.

I would add more emphasis to new users and assisting their onboarding. I currently spend time there every week but have often thought of expanding those efforts to actually mentoring a few in their journey towards being a minnow. However, the undertaking is substantial as I myself have been limited in my capabilities to do so as of late! I think that projects like @steemonboarding and @jongolson’s Steem Saavy can help in this as well!

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks for the love and support! appreciate that very much. it’s a passion and something i believe in with all my heart :) can’t stop. won’t stop lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think my primary orientation would be to work on our "retention issue," specifically seeking out and encouraging engaging newcomers so they stay here and become long-term participants, rather than follow the "make an account, play around for a couple of days, then die" pattern we seem to see a LOT.

Depending on the actual size of the delegation, I might sub-delegate 100-200SP blocks to active newcomers who are struggling with managing their resource credits... which is a very confusing issue for those who come here from other social media. "I like this place, but why can't I post anymore??" is NOT the sort of "welcome mat" we need here.

I know a LOT is already going in the direction of dApp development and other technical stuff... but I believe having a strong resident community really matters because who's going to USE those dApps? It's great that we can say "The Steem blockchain is a great place to develop dApps!" but wouldn't it be BETTER to be able to say "The Steem blockchain is a great place to develop dApps, AND we have a huge and active built-in user base!"

Thanks for asking the question @acidyo!

=^..^=

Since received delegation cannot be sub-delegated, you would need to have your own SP base to delegate out. How would you convert the massive delegation into native SP that could be delegated out to active newcomers?

That's a good question, @josephsavage. I guess I would have to (a) develop considerable curation expertise to maximize returns to build my own SP (which I would do, anyway) and (b) work hard on engagement to build rewards for my own posts which would be 100% powered up. It would be much slower of course... but you have to work with the tools available to you!

On an unrelated aside, thanks for SBI! One of my favorite things in this community!

=^..^=

Nice user name... here is a link in case... savagestores.com

savage25 is a code for 25% discount

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it would be hard because when some people see how much SP someone have they are trying to make friends with him/her. With great power comes great responsibility and you need to be more cautious. But my goal would be helping some great projects by following their curation trail. I think that is the only thing that you can do with delegated SP, maybe I'm wrong.

I would probably ask others what I should do with the delegation, and then do what smarter people say.

I would probably just start looking at the "New" page and start upvoting good content from there

Is upvoting content enough in this day and age to grow Steem, though?

I guess if we get some REAL CONTENT on the platform it would mean the most for the platform !

We currently have only content about this crypto boring scheme stuffs, but we want to see real content, that we can watch and relax like gaming, memes, cool pictures of cats and stuff like that. (and we need that cool content to reach trending/hot)

(personal oppinion)

I'd curate some lesser known greats in categories that I'm interested in myself. That includes but is not limited to photography and new tools and apps on Steem. I'd try and foster discussion about onboarding people.

$rewarding 50% 13 min

Thanks for spamming the fuck out of this thread... If you have something like this to show then please do so on post your own

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63352.53
ETH 2447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67