Dormammu(Marvel Comics/Doctor Strange) Awesome Face/Epic Smiley, Version A

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

OK, here's a real attempt, but feel free to tell me how I could improve him within the Awesome Face framework.

This ol' chap is one of the most badass-looking villains ever, and I hate to admit I didn't know about him until Marvel vs. Capcom 3.

Dormammu Face Epic Smiley JPEG[WATERMARKED].jpg

Thanks to @effofex for the request, and @bryan-imhoff for tips on how to improve him--I'll probably edit this post if I get feedback on improving his flame color, etc. Either way, I'm more satisfied with him, though I also want to do other versions, including ones with that weird shoulder piece that sometimes frames his head.

Constructive criticism and character requests welcome! This includes characters from any format(comics, anime, cartoons, live action TV, movies, literature, etc.)

Created entirely in Clip Studio Paint.

Please don't use my art without permission.

ORIGINAL Awesome Face:
Awesome Smiley Original base JPEG for POSTS.jpg

Great article about the origin/history of this image: http://driph.com/words/2008/04/origin-of-awesome/

Please upvote/resteem if you desire!

Sort:  

...I've come to bargain!

I like it the way it is...but if you want some feedback: much of the feeling of 'Awesome Face' expression is lost without iris. As a mashup maybe it needs just a shade more Awesome, and touch less Dormammu. But overall I really like it!

If it was me, I'd put in some iris but not black...just a slightly darker yellow/orange.

I tend to agree. Kind of like how I did with the Reverse Flash, in a sense, right?

Thanks so much for this feedback! I struggle so much with the removal of irises in these(see Atom Smasher, Firestorm, Deathstroke, and maybe others. Like I said, there'll be other versions, and I hopefully an iris-havin' version of him will be uploaded in the next few days(I'll have to start from scratch, since I'm pretty sure I modified the image itself rather than putting a layer over the eyes.)

I'm thinking in examples like this, I may be better off ensuring both versions are made just for the sake of capturing a bit more of each in their respective "dominant" editions. What do you think of that idea?

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91