🎨 Digging up ancient stuff - QUEST OF ABRAHAM and NATIVE PRINCESS OF MIDDLE EARTH

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

Actually, I didn't "dig it up" but they appeared on Facebook some time ago, posted by a Hungarian gallery. I had sold these paintings long time ago, early seventies - there were tons of these, and I have no record of any, until these two showed up.

QUEST OF ABRAHAM and NATIVE PRINCESS OF MIDDLE EARTH



QUEST OF ABRAHAM and NATIVE PRINCESS.jpg1973 and 1975 respectively, acrylic on canvas.
45 x 60 cm and 55 x 75 cm
ZOOM

Details

QUEST OF ABRAHAM 1973detail-web.jpgQUEST OF ABRAHAM - detail
ZOOM

NATIVE PRINCESS OF MIDDLE EARTH 1975 -lrg-DETAIL2-1600WEB.jpgNATIVE PRINCESS OF MIDDLE EARTH detail of headdress
ZOOM

NATIVE PRINCESS OF MIDDLE EARTH 1975 -lrg-DETAIL-2000WEB.jpgNATIVE PRINCESS OF MIDDLE EARTH detail of clothing
ZOOM



Visit my website


ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg



....... talking about ancient 😋......
passfoto-ps-sm-350px.jpg
my first passport photo - really ancient: 58 years ago!

About my Work

Sort:  

Great artworks as always.      
                       
Wow you look like a classic Hollywood actor :O.        
                         
-upvoted-          
                         

thanks - how flattering, lol - I was about 17 at the time this pass photo was taken. That passport took me to Sweden and a few years later to Canada, but I was puzzled that they even let me in, because by the time I arrived in Canada, I had long hair and a beard!

You shouldn't hide your face with beard D:.

I didn't know they let passport photo to look so photogenic back then, unlike these days ... the photo always looks so bland and unappealing now because they forbid us to make it interesting in any way.

yes, now they have international rules - a passport photo must look like you are in a police line-up, lol. I actually never thought of that until you mentioned it.
Ah yes, the beard. I had it most of my life, but did at times appear clean shaven when I was younger (last time was about 1995, when I was 51 years old).

IMG_2603-WEB500.jpg

You didn't look like 51 on this picture.... did you drink some fountain of youth? :)

idk - you see the necklace? It is a symbol of infinity, carved by a Maori from a boars tooth. I wore it all the time. Strangest thing, it broke, and then I started to age. I still have it, mended, but it is not the same anymore. I can't wear it now, it is very fragile.

Hey this is really cool to rediscover lost children of yours, so to speak. And I have to agree, yowzer, talk about dark and handsome in your passport pic ;)

wish I had more photos than that: I was very industrious in those days, painting up to 5 paintings a week, but hardly any photos. I had more, but they were very poor scans from paper photos and the HD they were stored on crashed. I do have some negatives somewhere, but would have to go through them, which is quite a chore. Some of the best work from those days were on slides that I still have, but that is just the tip of the iceberg.

Wunderbares Bild!
Aber dass du irgendwie davor zurückschrecken würdest Details zu malen, kommt hier an dieser Stelle mal wieder nicht rüber :D

Es ist aber Alles Trickmalerei, sieht as wie Details. Sogar die Gesichter habe ich aus dem dunklen, noch feuchten Hintergrund mit Lappen grob herausgeholt, und erst dann ein bisserl mit dem Pinsel bearbeitet. Die "Hörner" z.B. sind mt einem gezähnten Pappendeckel gemacht. Andere Details sind Decalcomania.
Mit Acryl muss man irre schnell arbeiten bevor es trocknet. Also Zeit zum blödeln hat man da nicht!

wow, what wonderful pieces ! and such a throwback to your earlier style !! love the detailing work in both, especially in the princess piece <3

and wow otto ! your first passport photo !!! SO BEAUTIFUL !!!!

Thanks - I used to be very busy and tireless in those days. The details were done with some tricks I developed back then and still use today.

Wow... awesome work. Upvoted.

Posted using Partiko iOS

...could it be that it says much about the time we're living in that people prefer to talk about passport photos than about your earlier works that have already kind of fractals incorporated?

Funny, yes, but it does not bother me (about passport photos - I mean it was I that posted it, lol so there are some reactions to be expected).
The fractal looking stuff is my early development of decalcomania with acrylics. Still use that today at times.

...with greetings from Mr. Rorschach.

Yeah, I have a whole library full of images I created on plastic, which I can then transfer to my paintings. Acrylic does not stick to plastic, so the images are created like 'behind glass paintings' and then I simply paste them on with acrylic medium and peel the plastic off when thoroughly dry. A bit of water helps the process to loosen the plastic from the paint.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you, much appreciated!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09