🎨 DER TRAURIGE AMERIKANER (The Sad American)

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

DER TRAURIGE AMERIKANER

For almost a year, I was looking for the WIP of this piece, and finally gave up, thinking it got lost, thrown out by mistake ....
So the other day, I shuffled through some drawing pads looking for the right size of paper (and smooth finish) when I stumbled onto a near empty A4 size pad. Open the cover, and there it was!

I usually sign my pieces bottom right, so some of the first details I drew were across the bottom, thus my signature and date 2018 was put on almost at the beginning. And a year later, I finished it, November 2019!


DSCN9105-web2000.jpg
graphite drawing on paper - A4 21 x 30 cm - 2018 (finished 2019)

The above image is a scan (which is more accurate), below find some WIP and a few details taken with my pocket camera.

DSCN9106-web1600.jpg
Detail (finished)

DSCN8791web1600.jpg
WIP

DSCN8789web1600.jpg
Detail - WIP

P1130519-web.jpg
WIP


I hate losing stuff - and there are quite a few pieces of mine that I have no idea what happened to them, and a few even that I have no photo record of. So I am glad I found this one. It is a minor work, but then, even the smallest ones are sort of my children and dear to me!



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
Pixels Shop Banner Ad.JPG


About - Introduction on Steemit



Sort:  

I love when that happens. Even as much of my work is now digital I still do this. I'll forget which computer I saved it on or 'misplace' the thumbdrive with my original sketches layouts and I'll want to go back to the core to try a thing out in a new colour way or something and then cannot find the original. But, inevitably, by mistake find it.

It had cost me some anxiety at first, but once I was resigned to that I lost it, and wasn't looking anymore, I found it. On the computer I lose not as much, other than forgetting the title (to search for it), but I create links also to the various drives the pieces are on, as well as to any derivatives, such as using details to make digital stuff from.

darn, I always find typos after posting - so that was the "edit" - fixing stuff I should have checked in the first place!

Isn’t that the worst, though?! I’ll spend countless.. I shouldn’t even admit it, countless hours at time editing an article and, it’s not until I post it, my wife is “there’s a typo right here.” “Dammit!!”

Incredible piece, @thrmoplatsic, thanks for showing us this one. 👍🏿 <— two of’em.

Ps. I just edited three typos in this response. Three!! Man, rough start.

thank you! I don't have nobody that could second-guess me - but once posted I reread my stuff, and that is when I trip over it. And this is edited as well, since I put the "thank you" under the wrong tread, lol

Thank you - I checked it out, looks good! I am in good company on there!

The man who has nothing to loose is very dangerous...

Quote by James Baldwin:
https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/james_baldwin_131771
now spell check don't catch these, but you used the wrong word:
https://www.grammarly.com/blog/loose-lose/

Mehn, this is a fantastic piece. Looking so real and fearsome. Am vlad you finally found the missing WIP.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, much appreciated!

I have done that so many times. Put a drawing somewhere stupid and forgotten about it. I always was pretty absentminded and my mother almost died when I came home from a school-day where I had had gymnastics with the wrong underpants.

I am not sure you have seen it, but they have made it possible to make custom coins based on steem: you can see your profile here:

https://steem-engine.com/?p=balances&a=thermoplastic

Someone already donated creative coins to you. If you add the #creativecoin tag the post will also get this coin. You can power the coins up and everything is like steemit. There is a site for the creativecoin too, but only the posts that are tagged are shown. Here is mine so you can see the upvotes: https://www.creativecoin.xyz/@katharsisdrill

Furthermore! I have also bought a new coin. When you have five you can give other a coin and I have decided to give it to all the dark artists here:

So here you have one.
!DERANGED

deranged You just received DERANGED @thermoplastic Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44