There's A Fungus Among Us

in #artzone6 years ago

Today's post I'd like to dedicate to the fascinating little organism which have given me so much inspiration for my artwork, my life, and even my alias. Of course I'm talking about mushrooms.

While it's only natural that everyone concludes that it's psilocybin that I'm talking about in the context of art, especially when said art brushes the realm of the psychedelic once and so often, I have to say that the psycho active ingredient in trippy shrooms has played a role in my life path and the development as an artist, but my fascination with those mysterious little beings had started long before I even knew that there was such a thing as magic mushrooms.

Furry Crystal Shroom

The way I've always seen mushrooms can be best described as some kind of link or bridge between the plant and the animal world, between flora and fauna, and they appear to me often creature-like, like they have some kind of personality even. While in earlier years I tried to talk myself out of this silliness and dismissing my affinity for fungi as some kind of reminiscent childish fantasy inspired by smurfs, funny enough modern research in the field of mycology shows that I might not have been so far off after all.

Chameleon Shroom

Chameleon Shroom.png

If this sparks your interest watch the short video below. Don't worry, 'm not hustling you to donate because they accomplished their goal and the film is fully funded., but it shows that there is a new understanding on the way about these incredible little helpers. Even though I'm aware of the obstacles modern science faces, especially when it comes to improving our lives, which is not in the interest of the dark forces which run our economy, I am excited and hopeful that with the help of visionaries and mindful people as they can be found her on Steemit, we will get our shit together and accept that living in harmony with nature will provide us with everything we need. The universe is abundant and that includes solutions to get mankind out of the pickle that we maneuvered ourselves so successfully into.

MD Email Shroom.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @mushroomdreams! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Mushrooms are SO fascinating, I studied biology at uni (didnt graduate though cause I chose to hit the road instead) - but it was so amazing to learn about these creatures!
You know, I was thinking maybe we could make some nice mushroom art together and enter this contest - https://steemit.com/contest/@veryspider/team-of-two-contest-engage-and-create-together
Sounds like a fun idea! The there is only 6 days left of it though, and I don't really know exactly how to do it.. :S But I also did a mushroom piece recently and it would be fun to create something!
beingsoftheundergrowth.JPG
Beings of The Undergrowth

Hi Freja, I hope it's correct to call you that, thank you for your comment. I love the picture you attached and I'm flattered that you want to collaborate. I think it's a great idea and I think we should totally do it. I'm not sure it'll work for this particular contest because of the deadline, but we could do it just for fun, or even create our own contest. What do you think?

Yes, Freja is my correct name :D
Yes it's a bit short deadline I know, but I think they might make another one again after..
But yeah we could totally do it anyway :)
Nice that you are up for it :D
I know our styles are quite different, so I don't know how to do it, you do mostly digital art, right? I'm more at traditional.. But that's the fun part of it :)
One doing lineart and the other color is one idea, but I also think a shared lineart would be fun, like you draw a bit, then I draw a bit and so on (sending back and forth)...

Yes our styles are very different but that's what makes it so interesting, it could be the perfect yin yang thang. How do you get your artwork digitized? Do you just take a pic or do you scan it? I see the biggest challenge there, because if we would go back and forth, how would you continue on a piece that I send back to you? Would you print it out and then continue with your media and then scan it back in? It could be done but every generation loses a bit of quality and color brilliance. Unless I would mask your artwork out when you send it back and add it to the original...
I can't help but being stoked about this - I love a good challenge and it opens new creative doors.

You are right, it would loose quality if I had to draw by hand and send back and fourth, because yes I would probably have to take pictures, since I don't have a scanner where I am staying now :/ that's true..
And drawing on printing paper is also not the greatest thing..
I just got a new laptop and chose it partly because it can draw with pen directly on the screen (because else I have just the mousepad! D: ) BUT I still have to buy the pen..! And i never tried it, so!
Hmm..
How else could we do it..?

Well, for now just to get started and to see how well we harmonize, one of us gets started, if it's you, take a pic of what you came up with and send it to me, I add my five cents and send it back to you. Than you can look at it on the computer screen while you keep adding to your original drawing. We can go back and forth a few times and at the end you send me a hires photo of your piece and I combine the whole thing digitally. Your artwork doesn't have to be perfect in terms of positioning, I can always mask out certain parts and arrange them in the best way.
How does that sound?

okay, yes let's just get started! I can also just trace your lines lightly to the paper over the screen, and if you can do the job of making it fit together in the end, that sounds great!
So.. who starts? haha, I'm getting a bit scared of starting!

would probably be better to do over email or other message system...?

Haha, no reason to be scared, this is going to be fun. We can make it even whackier by both starting without knowing what the other one does. So, imagine you for example have this idea and start with a ladybug, I have another idea and start with a locomotive. And then we have to make it somehow work. AND WE WILL! It's gonna be a blast. We can do email in the beginning and later when the files get bigger use dropbox. Here's my email: [email protected]

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Great stuff..you did it again
upvote and resteem

BTW. I did a post about Steemit Dying: https://steemit.com/steemit/@amd64/is-steemit-dying

Thank you much, I did read and resteem your article, and I'm taken aback by how knowledgeable you are about these issues and the grasp you have on the whole concept. Great job on your part but also somewhat depressing, because the fate of this site lies in the hands of someone who might run it into the ground. Have you considered reaching out to the people who run this platform?

Thanks for resteeming it. "Have you considered reaching out to the people who run this platform?" Well I was thinking if I could talk to them I might get somewhere in explaining this. But I don't know who they are. I head the name @ned mentioned but I don't know if he's the boss.

Just looked him up. He's got $2,534,270.21 worth of steem in his wallet, which I'm sure most crypto people know is not a very good Idea as it becomes a target for hackers who could steal it.
While his SP is relatively safe since it can only be withdrawn in batches over time his 1,465,532.971 STEEM and his $5,754.658STD are definitely at risk.

On his channel the last post(a month ago) is a youtube video of him playing a guitar and singing a song.

There are lots of comments, many are asking lots of questions about problems with Steemit but he doesn't answer any of them. So I don't think there's any point in putting anything in the comments there.

I might be wrong but I have the feeling that even if he read my post, he either wouldn't understand or wouldn't believe it. Either way I doubt that he'd do anything about it.

Sure, no problem.
Someone who has so much dough in their wallet is either a fucking show off, dead stupid, or is so loaded that he doesn't have to care if he gets cyber mugged.
Unless of course the creators want to motivate people and have some special coding in their profiles that fakes how much they have in their wallets. Who knows.
Have you tried the steam twitter account? When the site was down on Monday I checked them out and I remember I saw some kind of announcement saying " we heard you, we listened and we are working hard on implementing the changes you asked for, yadiyadiyadi" but I can't find it anymore. https://twitter.com/SteemNetwork
I don't know shit about the technology or the whole blockchain finesse, I can only wait and see what happens. Hopefully it'll turn around and come out stronger than ever. I just know I want something better than facebook, heck, much better, and even if Steemit goes down the crapper, sooner or later something similar will pop up. There's no going back anymore. I'm just waiting for a decentralized version of the internet which no government interference possible, lol, one can always dream...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82