"Nocturnal" || Digital Painting Process

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

Hello lovelies :)



Happy Easter everyone! Just a chill Sunday for me and family. Bringing you another digital piece today :) This is 'Nocturnal'.

1



I'm absolutely obsessed with drawing owls. I love figuring out the flow of the feathers and capturing the intricate little details of little patterns and their expressions. As usual, I do my digital pieces in photoshop. This is mostly un-referenced and took about 6-7 hours time in total, in several sittings within two weeks.

Here is the process:





I wanted to draw attention on both the expressions of the woman and the owl, hence focusing on most details on their faces and giving her a simple flowy gown for an "earthly, free-spirited" presence. I did this piece in grayscale so I could play around and concentrate on the values (light and shadow). Painting in grayscale is a great way to practice values, but I don't recommend always doing that because you'll get too comfortable and may be intimidated on exploring colours. (I often still am too)


crop


A little backstory: This is quite a personal piece for me. Painting this particular piece was one of the most peaceful experience ever, it was free-flowing, I took time and patience to explore and experiment with what worked and what didn't. (You can see in the process video that I constantly altered the owl)

Everything from the way she is leaning on the owl to how it's looking at her/the viewer is intended. Her stance says love, comfort, trust, she is devoutly connected to her companion. At the same time the owl's gaze says "I am her guardian, her protector, I belong to her and her to me".


2

* cue death stare *

3

Final Artwork



I hope you liked this personal piece and the process of painting this :) Subscribe to my youtube channel if you want to see more, I intend to post every two weeks. Feel free to ask any questions about my process, I love to share!

Social Media Links:

Youtube
Instagram
Artstation
Deviantart
Facebook
Society6
Kofi

--

Love,

4

Sort:  

I love owls as well and they have such descriptive faces. We have one or two owls that I often see in our road. I can imagine how much time this takes and you have done some wonderful work.

I wish I could see owls around my house :) Here in Sabah, Malaysia we don't see them much (I've never seen one here)

Thank you! :)

If I drive carefully when I come into our road I normally see at least one on the road. The problem is they are so quick and once they fly up they blend in so well with the trees. Sometimes they si on top of the street lamps , but it's not great for taking a photograph as the light messes it up. I was told that an adult can eat up to 15 mice or rats a day and a baby can eat around half that.

This is so beautiful! It is so clean that I thought it wasn't a digital painting, the expression on her face is perfect and is so full of emotion, the owl is the perfect partner for this too, a great piece, thanks for sharing!


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

First of all, wow! A feature would be amazing and I'm so excited that you want to share my creation. And thank you very much! :) I do have a brief backstory about this posting, though I don't think I am best at explaining things in english, please do feel free to include this or not, or summarize it however you see fit. xD

I can honestly admit that this is my favourite of my personal paintings so far because it holds so much meaning to me. I recently made a shift from doing graphic design work to doing art and illustrations full time, and I've never been happier.

This piece is one of the few personal works I've made since and is one I've given the most time and attention to. The chance of being able to be patient with my pieces has given me a lot of peace and confidence I haven't had during doing design and working short deadlines for not only client work that my idea concepts and abilities didn't align with, but also pay that was inequivalent to the effort I was putting in.

I actually have an A1 size poster of this printed plastered on the wall in my room. And every time I need a little encouragement I stand in front of it and stare at it, it gives me a stillness in my mind and reminds me to remember to appreciate time and the things in life that make me happy :)

it is such a beautiful artwork and i really enjoyed your video process:) Owl is one of my favourite symbols too and i use it a lot in my artworks.

I must inform you that your social media links do not work...you should check them:)

Oh my goodness! Thank you for telling me xD It’s because I always forget the melissamyra‘f’ at the end of every link. I’ve fixed them!

And thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it :) They are such graceful creatures, I love seeing interpretations of them in art.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Don't worry, of corse, i would have told you about it . I remember your social from a previous post and i was rather confused, specially with the insta account, lol.

I really wish you would start posting at nTopaz platform https://www.ntopaz.com/. I think told you before and i am sorry, but @ntopaz is the artist's community and you belong there:)

Ah, I can’t believe I didn’t notice before haha. Ah you probably did and I must have missed or forgotten about it :(

I just looked through the website and oh my gosh this is amazing! Thank you for sharing this with me!! <3

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much! <3 :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your artwork is FASCINATING! I was just looking through your other posts as well... great work! I'm following you for more. Thanks for sharing your talent to the rest of us Steemians!10934138_1029396020409248_5979547758316181625_o.jpg

Thank you so much! That is so sweet to say xD I’m glad you enjoyed my posts, I’m so happy for your support :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

Aaah!! Thank you so much! @nmalove So grateful for the support <333

Posted using Partiko iOS

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hi melissamyra,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh my goodness!!! Thank you so much for your support! I’m so grateful for all the love on this post! <333

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @melissamyra! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You have a gift for drawing, how I wish I had had that technique of yours to make a simple drawing or something similar. Are you amazing ok?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30