"Mountain child" - for @natubat

in #artzone6 years ago

Greetings steemians

Long time no see :)
About a month ago @natubat wrote an entire post featuring me in fosteraminnow Project. Whoa.
Must admit it did tickle me ego very nicely so I've offered her a drawing and she responded with something along the lines of " anything with mountains. I love mountains".
Maaan... at this point I realized that, although I love outdoors, I've no idea about painting or drawing mountains or any other kind of landscapes. Hard times. I realized that if I just draw some mountains off of a photography I won't be happy with it so I decided to put some wild animals in there just to get away with drawing less landscape ;)
But still I couldn't think of any image that I would want to put on paper for entire month... until a few days ago, when I saw in my head something similar to this picture below.
Mountains? Check. Wild animals? Check. Let's put some child in there as it adds to the overall mystery and we're good.
@natubat hope you like it. A little cheesy but it's called... drum rolls...

Mountain child

process

I've sat down with my trusty sakura pigma micron 02 and started to visualize whre everything would go. After a few minutes I've realized that perspective I intended to use would require me to draw those animals from above an behind. That's probably two perspectives that I've never practiced with ANY kind of animal drawing. I've began to panic a little but decided it's too late to quit or change the idea so as a result I've used photo references for pretty much EVERY SINGLE ANIMAL in there.
Whew. Praise th almighty Google as my animal photo albums really don't cover THAT part of their anatomy.

Starting with a deer. Or buck. Is there a difference?

Handicapped Wolf, midget Fox and retarded bear. Going great so far ;)

Trees apparently. The plot thickens.


Rest of the gang. Let's get to drawing mountains already.


And some final touches...


Done. @natubat hope there's enough mountains in there, sorry I suck at landscapes. If you would like to receive it at larger resolution ( print ready A4 300DPI) drop me your email address :)

Hope you people dig it. Thanks for reading.
Cheers :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That's fantastic, love the detail, resteemed!

Thank you very much kind sir :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh thankyou so much @longer! That is just beautiful! I think it represents my inner spirit - I have definitely got in touch with my "mountain child" in the last few years. I just love those animals. What a beautiful drawing.
I've only just seen this, because I've been away in the north west of Scotland since last Thursday, camping without any internet connection, then taking a room because the weather got too rough, and doing... guess what... climbing mountains! It was quite an adventure.
I love the pointy mountains. I think they represent the mountaineer's soul, always wanting to go ever upwards. It would be lovely to have it at a larger resolution. My email is [email protected].
Looking at the picture again... I'm about to go off into the wilds again, this time alone, wild camping on the West Highland Way. I really love this!
Thankyou so much!! :)

So glad you like it @natubat :) it did take me a long time to draw, but then i had to admit I was waiting for your reaction and was getting more nervous about lack of it ;)
Though everything is clear now, a few days of internet absence and spending this time surrounded by nature is a great way to recharge batteries, hope you got yours fully loaded :)
Can't wait for the spring so i can take whole family camping :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I love it! And I've just been on a camping trip myself, in spring-like weather (it's back to winter next week apparently).

Oh, and please give me a little time to scan and clean the drawing. this time I hope to make it quick ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely! Take as much time as you need :)

Wow amazing work longer :D. It is awesome to read how you created this piece, and why you chose these elements to add into the picture. Those animals are really well done, I'm amazed that you are so good at drawing them despite the fact that you've never done it before from this angle.

I like the composition and how you put the value of this artwork. I love that we're going from dark to a brighter place, and due to how you arrange the pieces, both the child and the distant mountain look pretty mythical :D.

Thank you so much :) glad that I've achieved that "mythical" look and that you think the values are doing their job because now I can't stop thinking that the dark place tends to pull all the attention towards itself. Well guess I need to give it some more time to decide ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @longer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! In a few hours, the Steem blockchain will be running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @longer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80