🐚✮ ՏҽɑsհҽӀӀ ՏԵuժíҽs! ✮🐚

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)


Here are some seashells I drew last month, but haven't had the chance to share with you guys! ^^

These are studies based on photos that I collected on pinterest. You can check out the photo collection on my board here: https://pin.it/x6chlsgwrqxfte


Some interesting facts:

● A seashell is a leftover from an animals body, the critter’s protective outer layer. When the animal dies, the soft pieces of its body are either eaten or simply rot over time.

● Seashells used to be a form of currency once upon a time at some places.

● Environmentalists note that taking shells prevent erosion, are used nest-building materials for birds and allow algae to find shelter. Removing shells negatively affects the environment.

● Seashells' shape has a purpose. It can be plain and smooth or come adorned with spikes and ridges and protrusions. Elaborate shells come from the tropics, to protect from more dangerous predators. However, this makes it more difficult to move around.

● One of the oldest seashell collections was found at Pompeii preserved in the eruption.

● Sadly the pristine shells that you can usually buy at vacations are probably taken from living shells. The shells of mollusks that died of disease, predation, old age don't often get tarnished in some way.

Sources: [1](https://www.panamajack.com/blog/7-facts-about-seashells/); [2](http://mentalfloss.com/article/65136/8-fascinating-facts-about-seashells)


When drawing I was looking for as much shape and pattern variety as possible. It's actually surprising how many different seashells exist. I feel that we are way too used to the stereotypical seashell shape.

Drawing process

I started with a rough pencil sketch after which I did the outlines wits a think ink pen. Once I was done with that I did the patterns. I left most of the shading for my 2 alcohol based grey promarkers.

Also while I was at sea I found a couple of very pretty seashells, sadly I forgot to photo them and I didn't take them with me. I'll try to remember next time. :)

Also if you get a chance to listen to a sound of a conch shell, you should! You can hear an ocean like sound in them.

The rushing sound that one hears is in fact the noise of the surrounding environment, resonating within the cavity of the shell.

Source: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seashell_resonance

Also I haven't given up on the Mermaid plan that I set up in June: https://steemit.com/art/@kristyglas/my-mermaids-art-project-plan-for-july

I'm just taking a break from it right now, so I can finish the Zodiac Dragons finally. :D I'm having lots of fun with them and I'm really glad you guys like them ^-^


Today I started drawing the Libra Zodiac. I wasn't home the whole evening, so I didn't take time to finish the drawings. This zodiac was a bit harder and it took me a few attempts with thumbnails. Eventually I reached a design that I like. Tomorrow I plan to ink it and then color it with purple color pencils, to make the whole zodiac series balanced with colors.

Virgo Zodiac


Also I forgot to add some information about the Virgo Zodiac from a few days ago. So here it is now :D

Virgo's element is earth. They are usually loyal, practical, kind and hardworking. They are also shy and focus hard on work and no play.

Source: http://www.astrology-zodiac-signs.com/zodiac-signs/virgo/

I feel like this is describing me perfectly even though I'm Aries xD If you're Virgo, how well does this describe you? :D

All art was made by me. Copyright @kristyglas. All rights reserved.

If you enjoyed my seashels drawing you might also enjoy corals:

https://steemit.com/art/@kristyglas/coral-studies-day-5-of-the-challenge?sort=trending

Also I'm resteeming more to make up for the lack of votes ^^ I'm trying to recharge my vote power before my Minnow adoption begins :D


Thank you for reading! <3 ^-^

[Posted from my Steempress blog!](http://www.kristyglas.com) [Steempress](https://wordpress.org/plugins/steempress/)
Sort:  

Great clean sdudies...looking forward to the mermaid drawing ;)

Thank you :)

Hello this artwork is featured on the 7th Issue of Steem Sketch Book on this blog : The Art of Monotone and Lines : Steem Sketch Book's 7th Issue of Featured Artworks

Thank you for contributing the awesomeness of art here on Steemit!
Follow @steemsketchbook for more upvotes, resteems and contests

I love ! What a lovely post ! <3 All those seashells, and also the text is very educational <3 I didn't know removing seashells have a negative effect on the environment.... :O

Thankfully, I am not a seashell collector...

Would love to see what further things you will do with this seashell studies in the future :)

Thank you! ^-^ Yeah I suspected that it's not good, but I had no idea it was so bad :O
I'll try to use them soon enough :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you! ^^

I love seashells!!! I collected quite a number from the beach that I visited few months back (though I know I shouldn't but they are sooo prettty). I was thinking to practice some drawing with them but haven't gotten the chance. You drew them very beautifully @kristyglas!

Thank you :) I hope you do and share with us the drawings :D
I've collected a lot as a kid and my family still has them. There are much less now as there are so many tourists now.

I hope so too! :) Thank you @kristyglas!

It shows that you are a fan of corals and seashells! Were spectacular designs that you made no doubt some is an excellent job thanks for sharing with us

Thank you :)

They're wonderful and your skills to know and paint them are awesome! :)

Thank you :D

Love the energy you put into the research. It was interesting to find out that they were ysed as a currency. Thanks for sharing the drawing process. I would try it some day :)

Thank you ^^

The use of shells in trade began as direct commodity exchange, the shells having value as body ornamentation

Some form of shell money appears to have been found on almost every continent: America, Asia, Africa and Australia.
A lot more cool info here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shell_money

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54