The Tiller of the Earth - a sculpture of a farmer

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

tiller-head-2.jpg
I really enjoyed creating this sculpture on the subject of farming. When I receive a sculpture commission, I start by looking for a model. I found an excellent model who happened to be my next door neighbor. When I asked him if he would pose, he said he had always dreamed of becoming a farmer. Such serendipity!
tiller-prog-me.jpg

I also look at other sculpture on the same subject. This piece by Paul Landowski in the Tuileries gardens in Paris France greatly inspired me.
landowski.jpg

I placed my farmer in a horseshoe shaped form on which I sculpted two medallions in bas-relief. One of corn, the other of soybeans. On the base of the piece is a bas-relief of the first American steel plow.
tiller.jpg

The sculpture was cast in bronzed resin and placed in front of a school in Illinois.
tiller-in-situ.jpg

tiller-head.jpg

The Farmer, by W.D. Ehrhart
...
I don’t complain—except
to passersby who ask me why
I work such barren earth.
They would not understand me
if I stooped to lift a rock
and hold it like a child, or laughed,
or told them it is their poverty
I labor to relieve. For them,
I complain. A farmer of dreams
knows how to pretend. A farmer of dreams
knows what it means to be patient.
Each day I go into the fields.

Hope, Steemit community, that you enjoy this post. Upvotes, comments, resteeming, all are welcome.

My website: www.kathleenscarboro.fr

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Wow, just wow!!!

Thank you! It was a fun project.

@smartbot tip 1

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 6500 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you send SBD to resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

1 SMART = 0.04 SBD

How To Use SmartCash?

Σ$$$ Tipped @kathleenscarboro Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.078 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.08 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

I just love this piece, and I love that you found the perfect model. I think it's just incredible that you shared the process with us.

But I really love the touches! The corn and beans and horseshoe and the plow. That's what made us farmers, that tool there.

Thank you.

Yes the model really had the look of a farmer, didn't he. Funny how models appear when I need them. Thank you.

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 8.64% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @kathleenscarboro!

Lucky kids, to pass that statue every day. Think of how many may pause, may look thoughtfully into the farmer's face and wonder about his thoughts, about his life, about the inspiration that led to this creation. This is an amazing piece. There is magic in your hands, to be able to show us the beauty that you see.

This is why I believe in the importance of public art; so that everyone may have access to works of art. Thank you.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This is getting better and better - very powerful piece!
upvoted, resteemed and shared
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1008698680717856769

Thank you Otto; it was fun to do.

Wow. This is a wonderful piece of art that commemorates such an important thing. Farmers feed the world. I love that you have shown us the process. I can imagine it is a time consuming effort. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your kind words, @broncofan99, so glad you like it. Yes we all can thank the farmers for keeping us alive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30