The Little Girl and the Sea - an oil painting

in #artzone6 years ago

girl-sea.jpg
This painting has taken me about six months to execute. Layers upon layers of glazes, slowly building up to the color intensity I wanted. As with many of my paintings it was a marathon, with energy flagging and mental fatigue at times. But today I am satisfied with the result.

I am including some close-up shots, and will put preliminary stages in another post to avoid making this one too long.

The little girl is fishing in Southern India. I loved her pose, the freedom of the wind in her hair and the vast expanse of the sea which is her daily world.

girl-sea2.jpg

girl-sea3.jpg

girl-sea4.jpg

Upvotes, comments, resteeming, all are welcome.

My website: www.kathleenscarboro.fr

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Thank you dropahead curation team!

Great painting again and beautiful colors! You have an unique style!

Upvoted!

Thank you @sanderjansenart, glad you appreciate my work.

Watching this painting like I am back to childhood days at the beach and the sea where I grow up. It makes me feel calm and happy while seeing this child with all those colorful positive symbols around @kathleenscarboro :)

Thank you kindly @jungwatercolor, I try to do paintings that remind us of moments in our lives when we were close to nature and free in spirit. I have just done a post about my method using this painting as an example.

You are able to capture something so precious in you art. I truly just love everything you create...your expression is very unique and so moving. You paint the subtle beauty in daily life.

Thank you @zameena-zen, when people make comments like yours, it makes all the effort worth it!

Your painting of the girl with the melons is probably one of my favourite pieces of art I have seen in awhile (on and off steemit). I think the reason why I love your work so much is because it reminds me of the famous Persian poets who would write about the usual and use simplistic imagery to illuminate something so deep and soul-expanding...that painting with the girl and the melons is like that for me.

Yes @zameena-zen; I seek the sublime hidden in the ordinary. Your comment is insightful.

What a beautiful, joyous painting! Her pose, with her back turned to us, additionally gives an impression like what she is doing is secret, private, and her domain. In that sense, it is as if you have painted her aura, her world, without too much focus on her, as she wished. :)

Such an interesting comment, @anibas. Yes there is something very private about her. I try to paint people who don't know they are being observed because they are so authentic.

so beautiful , you have your own style !

Oh, so beautiful! * - *

Glad you like it @krasnec, thank you.

Just WOW painting...
amazing @painting

Thank you @linki555, glad you enjoy my art work.

hey Kathleen, great stuff - did you throw a hint of Klimt into the mix?
upvoted, resteemed, shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1006148855447085061

Thank you. Yes I was feeling very Klimty when I created the composition. The flowers floating around are from him.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @veryspider to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13