My First Experiment with Encaustic, 1

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

Encaustic is an ancient technique using hot wax as a way to paint, and seal, as well as collage, artwork.

IMG_3549a.jpg

About 8 months ago, I had done this colored pencil, marker rendition of an alchemical image I saw in a book...and I had glued it to a piece of wood...IMG_3542.JPG

It was on the throw away pile in my studio... so I decided to use it as the first try-out piece for my first time with encaustic. I bought a George Forman grill for $5 a the thrift store, I had a lb of beeswax, I got 2 oz of damar gum on ebay for $5, and I bought a heat gun on ebay for $16 - that's all I need to start.

I mixed the beeswax and damar the other night and poured into a muffin tin.
IMG_3541.JPG
and began to melt it tonite on the griddle...

I grabbed some oil pastels and a few sigils I did a while back...
IMG_3544.JPG

Here is a post I did about what a "sigil" is and how to make them https://steemit.com/art/@in2itiveart/praktical-magick-101-a-sigils

https://steemit.com/art/@in2itiveart/practikal-magick-101b-sigils-a-sigil-is-a-prayer

IMG_3547.JPG

IMG_3545.JPG
laid them on the wood, and fused them to it...

IMG_3546.JPG
then took out the oil pastels and started to fill in over the white.

IMG_3548.JPG

Here is a sigil i did for my neighbor, Danielle, who is a pretty crazy formerly homeless veteran, who moved in next door - it is a prayer that she feels comfortable in her home. I realized later, that I am violating her free will - in a way and this sigil has not exactly worked - but she is still here in the building, and it's been a long while - maybe 8 months, so probably a record for her - but you can see - i took the sentence, pulled the single letters out and made a design... hung it on the wall... I activated the sigil, simply by drawing it, and thinking about her... I decided to use it in this experiment because it was there - and I needed something else for the picture.

in the end, this is what I have got...

IMG_3549.jpg

Sort:  

The sigil technique ended up with a mass of letters! ;-) You may wish to elaborate on that image, for the benefit of those who may not know its significance.

Upvoted, resteemed and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

good idea - I was impatient to get it up there and it was 2am...i added a few links to how to make a sigil and also a little information on one you can see... in the picture - thanks for hte suggestion

wow..great post, my dear friend @in2itiveart,very nice art,i like it this art all time,thanks for share,

very very cool.

thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72