1st Art-Trail Contest: 'Solar Eclipse at Matt's Place'

Here is my entry in the 1st Art-Trail Contest. This artwork contains depictions of human anatomy, sometimes known as 'nudity', and may not be entirely safe for work (depending on where one works probably) so click here carefully. Already clicked? Welcome!

It's an honor to join in this artists initiative, and I'd like to thank @art-trail for the chance to show some of my work. Here then, following a brief description, I'll introduce an oil painting of mine from 2004.


1st Art-Trail Contest

  • Category 1: Painting and Drawing

  • Title of piece: 'Solar Eclipse at Matt's Place'

  • Size: 14" X 18"

  • Technique: Oil on canvas. Canvas was prepped with numerous coats of gesso, then sanded smooth. Layers of oil paint were applied thinly, and were usually dry to the touch the next day. After painting, several coats of gloss varnish were added.

'Matt's Place' is a real cabin which is located in Missouri, USA. Using an old black-and white photograph of the building, I sketched onto the gessoed canvas every brick, board and beam with a pencil, then began applying thin undercoats of oil colors. It was a matter of rebuilding old Matt's Place from the ground up, using nothing but oils, turpentine, linseed oil and pigments, one thin layer at a time.

Meanwhile the garden needed attention, and below is the full painting, titled:

'Solar Eclipse at Matt's Place'




thanks for looking at my artwork, feel free to up-vote if you like. Original art by @therealpaul 2004.

Sort:  

This is awesome! I just put up a post, but I'm definitely coming back to resteem this one :)
Did you put it in the art-trail post as well? I can just look lol.

Thanks, yep I put a link in the comments.

Hey, if you see this, head on over to chat :)

There's also an art-trail in chat that you can put the link in to promote it. I made a promo post for the contest, giving away some steem, hoping that will get some people to bite ;)

Thank you for doing this, every bit helps. Thankfully for me, I always liked creating the art in the first place, and never spent any time trying to sell or even show it afterwards. I do therefore appreciate the promotion.

I love it. The surroundings are almost photo realistic but the blue ladies seem to be from an other world. Makes my imagination run wilde. Great. You got a new follower.
@dreemit does this also count for your contest?

Thanks for commenting. I see what you mean I think-- the ladies always looked to me like they were pasted onto a landscape painting, grabbing all of the attention.
I think that this is exactly what @dreemit was hoping to see, and thanks for the follow, following back.

It was indeed! I wanted you to get sum and her to get sum, for all of us to get a little sumsum, LOL @sumsum :)

Absolutely! It counts for part one and two, so steem and SBD coming your way! Isn't it awesome? Making money for viewing magnificence! :)

This is pure steemit magic I love it. :)

It definitely is, thank you for being part of it!

This is a great piece @therealpaul! There is so much detail in every facet of this painting. I just keep wanting to scroll up and look at it over and over. Truly fun and quite imaginative. Thanks for the peek into your world!

Thank you @everlove, that's a good description of the painting-- I never quite knew what to make of it myself! It's what I might call 'whimsical'.

I love it when art makes itself and sometimes leaves even the artists wondering a bit about the creation that comes through. The title is intriguing to me as well!

Nature sounds a bit different during eclipses, I think this implies that things might look differently as well.

I would agree with that! Nature holds many surprises. What a great opportunity to tune in.

Very beautiful, interesting piece. And once we know the whole story of the origins and technique, makes it even more special. And the garden is delightful. Thanks for sharing more of your incredible art. Cheersio

Thank you. I left out some of the details of how this piece came about, so it's almost the whole story. The mystery of this art will be part of it's appeal maybe.

hehe well I still hesitate to detail or point out some of the influences for the colorful geometry, but it was completely natural, popping up from the earth overnight by nature's will. And I can't recall the story of Matt's cabin enough to go into it much, but it has something to do with a book called 'Shepherd of the Hills', about a family or two living in the Missouri Ozarks-- 'hillbillies' I suppose, based on the guy who built the cabin, Old Matt's Cabin. The mystery is, what does that have to do with mushrooms? I really have no idea myself. Yet.

Sounds a bit complex. I have a headcold, so my mind won't quite wrap around that at the moment. Fuzzy waves here...

heh I can't believe I even tried to explain a piece of psychedelic art, especially this particular one! But fuzzy waves, sounds familiar. Be well!

Sometimes I'm a bit slow, even when not fuzzy. Might be the explainette, more than the explainee.
I'm slowly gettin' better. Hate these things.

this is impeccable artwork!
I want that art piece above my bed!!!!!
Amazingly touched by this!
(And no @dreemit I did not say touched myself because of this!!)

Ohhh, who are you trying to fool? I know you sing that song where you're all alone in your playpen...I want you to love meee, lol!

Or is it .... I touch myself....

haha she thought it though... you know she thought it! Thank you for this, I love comments, especially this one!

And if you ever feel the need to sell this... can I have first dibs? PLEEEEEAZZZZE?
I might need to save up for the rest of my life - but it's a sacrifice I'm willing to make LOL

You are awesome @breezin, I am happy that you like it. It is for sale, and it's a painting that few people have seen, it is not on display anywhere except here. Also in real life, the ladies are purple, but my digital Canon camera doesn't understand purple and always translates to blue. I mention this in case the blue color was your favorite part ;) The value of the painting, from my point of view, may be much less than you think, so if you are interested in it for real, get in touch with me in chat and make an offer if you wish. I appreciate your words and interest.

Lol lets just say I am flat broke and budget for buying milk and bread at this stage hahaha, and in South Africa. What would you normally sell a painting like this for? Where are you from?

I don't normally sell paintings, so I don't know how much! I'm in Arkansas, USA. Wait you get to have milk and bread? At the same time? ;)

hahahaha, sounds fan-freakin-tastic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15