Hands 28 - Oil Painting

in #artt6 years ago


Thank goodness for old tech. I always keep at least one old computer around for emergencies if my main computer goes down. I also have a number of USB sticks that will boot up into a fully functioning Linux system. So I always have a few tools to save the day. But alas, the hard drive died, so I've ordered a new one and I'm awaiting its delivery.

I certainly notice the difference when I don't have my favourite tools to use.

Thankfully, painting isn't prone to such tool failure. A brush does what it does, without power, with upgrades, or crashes. Their lifespan goes even beyond their initial shop fresh beauty. Even the old battle worn brushes have a use. It's times like these that I'm so glad to have taken a step back from technology and working with it for a living, and committed myself to something decidedly more low tech. 

Life can be so simple if we choose.


"Hands 28", Leo Plaw, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it. 

More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

I totally agree with you: thanks goodness for old tech! Watching this painting I repeat more and more thanks goodness that brushes are not prone to tool failure. Wonderful piece, really impressive!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers Silvia!
The more complex a thing becomes, the more prone it is to failure. There's not much that can go wrong with hairs bound to a stick.

Amazing painting @leoplaw Your art is so classic !! I hope you share your skill of drawing and anatomy in this nTopaz contest

As always - excellent :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you good Sir! =)

Amazing painting again!

Thank you Maysi!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Very nice @leoplaw <3 I love the way you paint skin tone, as you know :) That slight purple tinge really creates a wonderful fleshiness * ___ *

Something is off with the index finger? Or maybe it's just me? It seems too short compared to the other fingers...

Nope, my fingers are actually that short. ;-)
I work from photo reference and measured the proportions. It's accurate.

🎉 Congratulations @leoplaw! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.

Thank you! I hadn't logged in for a while and just found this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59696.15
ETH 2618.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41